New Years Musings

IMG_3472

I love the renewed resurgence of blogging that seems to blossom in January. Maybe it’s inevitable: we don’t have any family functions, the weather keeps us indoors and wonderful blogging and reading projects like Creme de la Creme attract our attention. Maybe the relentless merrymaking of the winter season naturally gives way to reflection.

So many bloggers I read have already written interesting, insightful posts about what they’ve learned this year and what they hope to learn in 2013.

I don’t like to make resolutions. Partly because they don’t stick for me, but also because I like learning what the year will present, what findings will stand out.

Here are my lessons from 2012:

1. It was heavenly to cross visiting the Amalfi Coast off my life list, and eating and shopping my way through Italy for a big birthday and anniversary with my beloved was everything I hoped it would be and more. Y’all are probably sick of hearing about that trip, and rightly so. I think it was Mark Twain (or maybe Stephen Colbert) who once said: “Nothing is more boring than someone else’s vacation.” 😉
2. I learned to be grateful for what I have and less sad for what I don’t have. Mostly.
3. I remembered how fascinating fashion was (and still is) to me, and learned that taking care of my appearance gives me the power to heal some of my wounds. Looking good sometimes really can equal feeling good.
4. The twins became delightful little people who enjoy me reading the “Little House” books aloud. They are creative and exact and smart and great company. I love age 5.
5. Family and friends remained happy and healthy and I gained a niece, a gorgeous little girl.
6. We grew more of our own food: chard, kale, spinach, tomatoes, sage, thyme, rosemary.
6. Readers, you continued to be such a continuing source of strength and support and fun. Sometimes if I am feeling low, I’ll check my email and a beautifully worded little jewel will be waiting for me. While I constantly struggle with what to do with blogging, the community reminds me how lucky I am to have found this place.
7. Overall, I was pretty happy this year.

In general for 2013 I wish HEALTH most of all to all my friends and family. I also have vague plans for cooking from scratch (like bread, maybe cheese and living more off the land and our plantings) and perhaps more of a seasonal approach to life: using spare time on planting, ordering seeds, harvesting, cooking what we grow more. Figuring out a way to balance picky eaters (me included) with a variety of produce and carbs and protein. Enticing the family with more outdoor activities. Perhaps really cracking this blogging code in some way.

I hope that 2013 is the year your dreams come true!

What do you want in 2013?

12 Comments

Filed under Discovering joy, My Favorite Things, Parenting After IF, personal style

12 responses to “New Years Musings

  1. I agree with you on not making resolutions, but just learning and growing! Happy 2013!

  2. I’m striving for peace, even I it doesn’t come wrapped in the second baby I so hope for.

  3. What a nice list. I haven’t commented in a while, but I do read, and you sound like you are in a really good place with everything lately. 🙂
    What do I want? One more baby! And a stress-free transition with my husband returning to work and us moving because of it. And to play more with my camera…
    Happy New Year!

  4. I’m trying not to have high hopes for this year, but I’m striving for peace and recovery.

    I really enjoyed the variety of topics you blogged about in 2012! I look forward to reading more in 2013.

  5. I’m hoping for peace and some direction. Now that our family building phase is done, I can’t help but wonder what will be next for us. I was so focused for so long on getting and staying pregnant, that I think I’ve lost a little bit of who I am. Hoping to find that missing piece again.

  6. Happy new year! Your plans for 2013 sound lovely.

  7. I am so impressed with your #6 and #7. And jealous of #1.

    I want to have the chance to evangelize about openness in adoption. That’s my wish for 2013.

  8. I.want.that.jacket. Love. Great list and I’m also jealous of #1.

  9. If you crack the blogging code, I hope you tell me some of your secrets. 😉

    I want a job in 2013. Someone told me I should visualize, though. So: “I will get a fabulous job in 2013.” Too vague to come true, no? Boo … I’m working on it. 😉

  10. I thought I commented on this when you first posted it to tell you that I think you are adorable. I did not, so… You are adorable! You look like every sweet old-fashioned “set in Manhattan” movie combined into a person, and that person had a furry hat. ❤

Leave a comment