Style Scrapbook: YOU Take Center Stage

First of all, THANK YOU for all of your feedback, tweets and emails about my How To Dress posts! I’m so glad you are finding them helpful.

While I have guidelines and tips, one thing I DON’T like about certain guides and makeover shows is how they can erase people’s personalities AND values. (E.G.: not wearing leather or fur.) I’m trying to tutor myself and you all about how to make the MOST of how we dress, but I don’t want you to change your true essence, your own individual style.

Women have different muses: David Bowie, 90s grunge rockers, 20s flappers, Gilded Age heroines, 40s movie stars, yoginis. One of best things about BlogHer was seeing everyone’s outfits: from cool Chuck Taylor Converses, to brightly colored togs, to super cute eyeglass frames, to Martha Stewart’s fun coral platforms to Katie Couric’s sleeveless shift, emphasizing her strong guns. Everyone brought their own personality, and outfits reflected this.

Something else I have been mulling over: I want us all to stay in the frame, to continue being the stars of our own lives. We all matter.

So. I’d like to put together a Scrapbook, if you will, of YOU.

I will update with links, below, so here’s what I’m hoping you can do. If you are a blogger comfortable being pictured, link to a post (it can be old or new) in the comments where you are photographed, where you look like YOU.

You Being You!

From Too Many Fish To Fry
From Bloodsigns
From R. Sativus
From Stumbling Gracefully
From Stirrup Queens
From Silent Sorority: 1, 2
From Hard to be Human
From Write Mind Open Heart: 1, 2, 3, 4
From Mama On the Fly
From Road Less Traveled: 1, 2, 3
From Dragondreamer’s Lair

15 Comments

Filed under My Favorite Things

15 responses to “Style Scrapbook: YOU Take Center Stage

  1. Ian is tickled pink about you linking to that picture. 🙂

  2. Esperanza

    This is as close to me being me as I can find on my blog. I’ll look around for a photo of just me too. http://esperanzasays.files.wordpress.com/2012/07/img_9741.jpg

  3. I love converse. One of the ushers at my wedding wore them with his suit and just looked so original and cool.

    Marwil told me you were having issues viewing my blog, I am so sorry about that, I hate to loose the chance of a friend just because of technological issues. I asked my techie hubby and he said the only thing he could think of without looking at the issue would be to try and view it in a different browser. I keep up with you though, and I have been enjoying the style posts you have been doing.

  4. Mel

    I have a post coming up that will have a much better picture that I love, but I submit this in the meantime: http://www.stirrup-queens.com/2012/03/thoughts-from-a-second-trip-to-the-white-house/

    This made me realize how I am usually the one behind the camera, and I rarely have photos of me.

  5. Here’s a post from two years ago that incudes a photo of me positively beaming: http://blog.silentsorority.com/2010/09/29/breaking-the-silence.aspx and here’s a post with a snapshot about where I was 10 years ago.
    http://coming2terms.com/2008/06/08/becoming-me.aspx
    (note: I went from blonde to brunette — somewhere in between I’m a redhead, too!).

  6. Pingback: Staying in the Frame « Not Undecided

  7. This is such a cool project. I’m including a few that show who I feel I am at heart; take what you want.

    http://drama2bmama.blogspot.com/2009/12/wordless-wednesday.html
    http://writemindopenheart.com/2008/07/show-tell-switcheroo-2.html
    http://www.allthumbsreviews.com/2011/08/om-shanti-clothing-zenilicious-with.html

    I’m so excited to see how you’re putting this together!

  8. Okay…I’ll link my post from earlier today. You’ll have to scroll down to the end. Nothing defines me more than when I’m holding that Little Man.

  9. As I said in an earlier comment, I don’t post a lot of photos of myself on my blog… as much because I’m still a bit privacy-leery as not having alot of photos of myself that I like, lol.

    Here’s a recent one of me at the cemetery…I’m wearing sunglasses but it’s definitely me. ; )

    http://theroadlesstravelledlb.blogspot.ca/2012/08/14-years-later.html

    This was me & dh, two years ago, on our 25th wedding anniversary:

    http://theroadlesstravelledlb.blogspot.ca/2010/09/30-posts-in-30-days-day-11-photo-of-you.html

  10. Oh dear! I’m definitely not comfortable being photographed for my fashion sense. That I’m going to have to leave up to the experts like you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

