Then She Decided To Cut Off All Her Hair…

Today was class pictures.

Yesterday, I gave the kids their very own scissors for craft projects. I had consulted various experts and teachers, and concluded they were ready.

Well, the headline of this post says it all.

My daughter decided she wanted to look like Coco Chanel. Yes, she knows who she is. She’s obsessed with fashion books.

The amazing thing is her haircut looks GREAT! It’s insane, but she created the classic tapered bob HERSELF, with the hair shorter in the back and longer in the front. The bangs could have been more even, but her instincts are pretty (this word is overused but appropriate here?) fierce.

I’m torn between being proud of her individual style and annoyed that she cut her hair without my permission.

But I’m mostly proud.

BEFORE

Dress: Janie & Jack

AFTER

Dress: Gap Kids. Shrug: Gap kids. Headband: Janie & Jack. Sunglasses: unknown.

Did you ever cut your hair when you were little? When you were little, did you have a strong idea of how you wanted to look?

15 Comments

Filed under personal style

15 responses to “Then She Decided To Cut Off All Her Hair…

  1. Yeah, I’d have to say you should be proud….That headband makes it all perfect…I love it!

    No, I never cut my hair, but my sister cut it off for me…she claims the scissors called her name and told her to do it….I think she was jealous because my mom kept her hair short and mine long…

  2. She looks great! My home haircuts always went horribly wrong, and they always seemed to be documented in school pictures.

    There was fourth grade, when my mom decided to trim my bangs the night before pics and she had issues with getting them straight. When she finished, my bangs were only about 1/2 an inch long and still crooked. And then there was fifth grade, when my sister decided to cut a chunk of my hair off, almost at the scalp, while I was asleep. The rest of my hair was to my shoulders, and by the time picture day rolled around I had this ridiculous tuft of hair sticking straight up on the crown of my head.

    I don’t allow home haircuts. I don’t do home haircuts. 🙂

  3. This is hilarious and man is she a ham! Watch out world! So cute! 🙂

  4. I was maybe 5 and at a friend’s house. He cut a little bit of his hair and told me to do the same. I knew it was wrong, but I did it anyway and took out a huge chunk from the back. I still remember the plastic red safety scissors, and that my mom was not pleased 🙂

    As a teenager I cut myself bangs several times and regretted it each time, but that’s different I suppose.

  5. Awesome! My son did this last year … but he didn’t look nearly as fabulous as your daughter does. 😉 And no … I was never brave enough to cut off my own hair!

  6. I cut my hair with pinking shears when I was little. That was a look. Hers is much cuter, though!

  7. Oh my goodness! She is so daring – and her new hair cut suits her! 🙂

    I also feel victim to cutting my own bangs as a teen, but that’s the limit of my hair cutting experiences. I did cut Barbie’s hair, though. It was a disaster.

  8. OMG I was prepared to be horrified but ended up impressed.

  9. I think she looks fabulous! She did a WAY better job than all the girls I babysat who did the same thing (never on my watch thanks goodness). I guess it’s a right of passage. I wonder when Isa will do it…

  10. Holy crap, her hair looks really, really GOOD. She’s onto something!

    Never cut my own hair, but the older sister of a child in my toddler classroom did. She ended up with a very awkward bowl cut for a loooong time bc her hair grows slowly and she cut it REALLY short. Her poor mom was NOT PLEASED.

  11. Hehe, I think we all have done it at some point. I was about 5 and it wasn’t pretty. Your daughter did it well though!

  12. Never cut my own hair, but like Shannon above, I did scalp a doll or two in my time. ; )

  13. I’m just waiting for Abby’s self-haircut. I hope she does as good of a job as your girl!

    My fashion sense was shaped by shyness and shame. My mom was a seamstress, and my aunt travels the world importing exotic fabrics. Once she sent me this beautifully embroidered yellow dress, and all the kids at school laughed that I was wearing my nightgown. After that, I only wanted to wear clothes no one would notice. I’m glad I grew out of that.

  14. She looks fabulous! My vote is to be proud of her, but have the talking-to about why cutting one’s hair can be an exercise in disaster. Still, build on it by taking her to a nice salon and using this as an opportunity to expand on hair and fashion. She most certainly has an eye and it should be encouraged.

    I cut my a total of 3 times as a child. Each time, it turned out disastrous. Mainly because I didn’t have a clear vision of what I wanted. In addition, my mother completely freaked (didn’t help that I didn’t do a good job), so the opportunity to learn from my mistake was quickly quashed. To this day, I still don’t know what to do with my hair. One day, I’ll learn, but I wish I had the eye your daughter has.

Leave a Reply

