So, This Happened…

– I flew 12+ hours to Germany
– A little girl (not mine) threw up on me on the plane
– The airline lost my luggage
– I had to wear the barf clothes to a professional meeting
– I started to feel ill
– After 2 1/2 days of meetings I came down with bad chills/fever
– I stayed in my room instead of touring the city because I felt so ill
– The hotel (hostel really) is filled with partying 18 year olds on Spring Break who blare music and slam doors.
– I don’t speak German
– There’s no room service, so I have to drag my sick behind to a convenience shop blocks away to get food and water.

First world problems. I know.

To quote the Beach Boys, “I wanna go home.”

24 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

24 responses to “So, This Happened…

  1. That sucks. I hope you feel better soon, I know I hate traveling sick.

  2. Yes, they are first world problems, but they’re YOUR problems, and that is what matters. I hope things turn around soon for you. No one wants to travel this way!

  3. Mel

    Oh no! When can you come home? I hope the trip gets better.

  4. I don’t know that I would call this a first world problem… I think it would bother just about anybody!

    Hope the rest of your trip is better (if possible). What are you doing in Germany?

  5. SRB

    Ugh! My DH and I both got a stomach virus our first day in Berlin and spent three days in the bathroom. Blame Berlin!

  6. Yikes! Sorry to hear that- too bad you can’t even enjoy your trip!

  7. Oh, man. I’m sorry your trip has been so miserable. I hope you feel better soon!

  8. That sounds pretty miserable, no matter what world you live in. Hope you’re better soon!

  9. Boy, not a nice trip 😦 If you were anywhere near my place in Germany, I’d feed you, but chances are pretty slim you are…

  10. Oh no hope you get better soon.
    On the bright side lost luggage means an excuse to go shopping.

  11. Being sick away from home i.e. foreign countries has to be one of the worst experiences in life. I hope you feel better soon.

  12. elizabethkbaker

    Oh my goodness how awful! I am so so sorry- hopefully your trip home will be quick and uneventful!

  13. Oh crap. Any of those things would be awful but all of them, that’s a lot to deal with. Feel better soon!

  14. I hope you are already home, where only homemade barf is possible.

    Sounds awful!

  15. That sounds downright awful – not first world problems at all.

    Hope you are feeling better and get home soon.

  16. So sorry but totally intrigued to hear what brings you to Germany

  17. Esperanza

    What a shitty, shitty time so far. I hope it gets better and that you’re home soon!

  18. Oh man, that sucks. I hope you feel better soon.

  19. Well, this sounds awful! And I’m sorry, but getting puked on by some strange kid, and then getting her stomach flu, is so not a first world problem! That is just brutal lady, I’m sorry!

  20. That sounds like fresh slice of hell. And one day will make a very funny story…one day.

  21. Oh no! Ugh hope you feel better very, very soon 😦

  22. Oh no, that sucks! I hope that you feel better by the time you read this and are home or enjoying wherever you are. xoxo

  23. I’m late… but I hope you are feeling better by now! There’s nothing worse than being sick away from home (except maybe being sick away from home & having to work). (((hugs!)))

Leave a Reply

