Take THAT, Mainstream Media!

DSC_0105

Have you read Mel’s takedown of The New York Times and their obit of the late, great Dr. Edwards? It’s pretty bad-ass.

The Grey Lady’s coverage of all things infertility is strangely skewed, as we know.

The good news? We don’t have to take it anymore.

Recently, there has been a very welcome influx of books and articles doing their best to demystify infertility and adoption.

Books:

Lori’s book, called The Open-Hearted Way to Open Adoption. came out last week. I’ll be participating in a book tour later this month but here’s a quick preview: this book deserves to be a classic in the parenting genre. Pragmatic and philosophical, it’s a roadmap and a how-to guide in one great book.

Leah’s book Single Infertile Female: Adventures in Love, Life, and Infertility came out this week. I will be reading on the plane to Berlin this week. Here’s the description:

“First comes love, then comes marriage, then comes a baby in the baby carriage.” That’s how the story goes, right? We all grow up hearing the same fairy tales, and imagining the same futures. But what happens when the future you have always pictured for yourself is ripped away before you ever even get the chance to pursue it?

Pretty gripping right? Leah’s book has been burning up the Amazon charts, and I can’t wait to read it.

In the works: Kathy mentioned on my Too Many Fish to Fry Facebook page that she is working on a memoir about her experience with neonatal loss and secondary infertility. This is much-needed because there is so little out there for those going through secondary infertility. (See the discussion on my FB page for the unique challenges facing those going through secondary infertility over there…)

Non-Infertility Books by Infertility Writers:

Measure of Love, from Melissa Ford. I’m also going to be reading this on the plane to Berlin. I loved her first book Life From Scratch (think Jane Austen for the 21st Century) and this is its sequel.

Minotaur, from April Cross. April just published this book, the first in a proposed series featuring heroine Pricilla Sharp. It sounds intriguing.

Articles:

Did y’all know Keiko is now writing for Disney Baby? She’s been writing about women who have gone through infertility, too, like The Maybe Babies, whose baby was just born after years of heartbreak. Keiko + Disney = a huge win for us.

The Ricki Lake Show blog featured this post by David Vienna about dealing with infertility, which was touching and moving.

And the Boston Globe had a much more fitting obit for Dr. Edwards.

Web:

Kymberli has launched a new site called JUMP! 1000+ Reasons to be Happy! just in time for National Infertility Awareness Week. In fact, my son is one of the “jumpers” featured. I tell the story of how a Slip ‘N Slide created joy for both my son and myself and helped heal my heart after my battle with infertility. There’s lots more stories there too and it’s a really cool project.

And speaking of healing, PAIL just hosted a “Healing Week” which addresses how those parenting after infertility deal with the scars of the past.

Pamela and Keiko participated in a RESOLVE New England project called “A Conversation on Life Beyond” children, which tackled life childfree/childless after infertility.

I’m sure this is just the tip of the iceberg: please feel free to add anything I have missed below, and I’ll be happy to add it to this list.

11 Comments

Filed under Infertility, Parenting After IF

11 responses to “Take THAT, Mainstream Media!

  1. This is quite a list, J! I have a day’s worth of reading ahead of me. My head’s been so submerged in web-building that I haven’t slowed down to read anything last week. I know what I’ll be doing tomorrow when my students are taking the standardized test!

    You? You rock so hard,

  2. Omg! My little old book up there with all those heroines of ALI?!? That is too much! Thank you, jjiraffe!!

    Looks like I have a ton of reading to catch up on! 🙂

  3. Some very clever infertile ladies out there!

  4. SRB

    Excellent round up! I’ve got a nice reading list for the week now…and a summer book list! Thank you for mentioning our Healing Week project – each of us found it difficult and cathartic in our own way.

  5. Mel

    Thank you — this roundup was a sweet end to the weekend: to see all the exciting things coming out of the community. Thank you for being the hub.

  6. Preach on!

    I agree with Mel, reading this is very inspiring and encouraging to see, especially after the NYT frustration last week.

    Also, thank you so much for the mention! Your shout out inspired me to finally write a bit more tonight! It has been a weeks, probably more like months, since I last worked on my memoir/proposal (there has just been so much going on in my life).

    But I remembered how Mel says if we can even spend just 15 minutes a day, we will be amazed what we can accomplish. When I pulled up my document, I had forgotten how much I had written/how far along I was when I was diligently doing my daily 15 mins. awhile back. So thank you for the kick in the rear end that I needed to get back to work! 🙂

    I like to imagine a day when the Mainstream Media will think twice before covering so many important topics sensationally. But I realize it is likely wishful thinking. I was telling my father, a retired journalist, about what happened with the NYT last week. It led to an interesting conversation about when he was back in journalism school and how they taught them what made for a good story, more so, what made a story sell.

    Thanks again for all that you do to challenge the mainstream media’s coverage of Adoption/Loss/Infertility, especially with your Faces of ALI series and posts like this. Keep Calm and Carry On!

  7. All thes blogger books getting published recently have really inspired me to write a book of my own. I have read Mel’s first book and really enjoyed it, and I have downloaded SIF’s book and look forward to reading it.
    What I am currently reading is “pink Wellies and flat caps” by Lynda Redham Cook- a work of fiction and it is hilarious. Please support her. I got to know her through a Facebook childless support group. She is has such a brilliant sense of humour. She also blogs.
    By the way please note I have changed domain names and hosts due to my hacking problems!

  8. Thanks for the great list! I’m going to be checking out several of these.

    It’s so easy to get frustrated with quite a bit of the mainstream media coverage of infertility, especially the New York Times.

    But it’s heartwarming to look at all the fantastic books and articles and know there are so many excellent resources/reads out there.

  9. I am so honored to be part of your post (OMG, thank you for your Amazon review) and to be in such great company.

    You are such a strong voice in this community, and a curator of other strong voices. Thank you for keeping it real, really really real.

  10. What an impressive list! You are such a wonderful, caring person to curate this for the community. I kind of wish my Listen to Your Mother piece was going to be on IF, but it’s not. I just didn’t have time to write a new piece. However, I’ve credited my IF experience for being one of the reasons I wanted to bring LTYM to Raleigh – after so many years of wondering if I would ever be able to be a mother, I was thrilled to have the opportunity to co-produce a show about motherhood.

  11. Just seeing this, but you totally have me glowing… And I am beyond pumped at Keiko and Disney! It’s so awesome!

Leave a Reply

