Do You Like Baked Treats?

My friend Justine lives in New Jersey, a state hit hard by Sandy. She’s seen the devastation of the storm firsthand (many are STILL without power, even now) and so she’s helping by hosting a nationwide bake sale to aid Superstorm victims. It is now LIVE. Bidding closes at 11:59 PM EST TOMORROW, Monday November the 26th.

From Justine:

“Though the headlines have begun to fade from the national media, the work to rebuild in New Jersey has barely begun. Many people, especially those at the shore and in Staten Island, are still without power, weeks after the storm. Cleanup will take months. Families have been displaced, forced to leave their homes.”

Sandy victims still are reeling. And I want to “bake a difference.”

I am making the zucchini bread that I featured here. I can make it with or without chocolate chips. Please feel free to bid here! 🙂 If zucchini bread isn’t your bag, there are tons of other mouth-watering treats. (Blondies, cookies, gingerbread people, chocolate peanut butter fudge, and lots more.)

As part of Cyber Monday, please consider buying some delicious treats, or you can donate directly through Justine’s site to the United Way fund for victims. Also, if you want to share this bake sale on FB, Twitter, Pinterest, etc, I’ll love you forever 🙂 Share buttons below.

Let’s help Sandy victims get back on their feet.

3 Comments

Filed under cooking?!?

3 responses to “Do You Like Baked Treats?

  1. I’m so moved by my friends’ willingness to support me and help me make this happen! THANK YOU!!! *manyhugs*

  2. What a terrific idea – I’m so impressed with Justine’s plan and with your participation. I’ve been hearing horror stories from my friends in Staten Island and New Jersey and have felt so helpless being so far away.

  3. This is such a nice way to help! I live in PA, so not far from NJ where Sandy did a lot of damage. I’m glad to see people still helping out because they really need it 🙂

Leave a Reply

