Swell! A Pirate Birthday Party

Doing two over the top theme parties with a limited amount of funds has been interesting and frankly completely exhausting. Esperanza took pity on me after I jumped a curb while trying to make for a most memorable birthday EVER and nailed a flat tire. (Because there are the separate party days then the actual birthday, so really three events.) She showed up and kept the kids in stitches.

My son and I went to the party store to set his theme: pirates. His colors were black and red. I tried to make his vision of pirate dreams a reality.

Anchor Cake (Made with my Mom’s Chocolate Cake recipe and Buttercream Frosting)

Pirate Balloon Garland

Facepaint

(Sweater: Gap Kids)

Pinata

Etsy

The Pirate Crew

Now if you excuse me, I’ll be napping for the next week.

14 Comments

Filed under Family

14 responses to “Swell! A Pirate Birthday Party

  1. Looks like you put a lot of effort in, and the results look great!

  2. It’s very impressive…I am in the midst of planning my daughter’s first birthday party and I’m afraid I can’t live up to your standards….would you like to be her party planner? Heck…you could plan my next birthday party….you’re quite good at it 🙂

  3. Argh! (pirate squint) Looks like a great party! I’ve been wondering how we’ll handle the birthday thing as the girls get older… separate parties or what. I’m a big fan of letting them each have their day… hmmm, lots to think about!

  4. Well done! The birthday boy looks very happy and everything looks wonderful. Now go put your feet up.

  5. The drawback with living in Canada is that you can’t really hold birthday parties for your kids at home during the cold or wet months. Most of my friends don’t have homes large enough to accommodate large groups of people never mind a bunch of kids so we end up renting rooms at community centres. Around here that’s about $130 and it gets you a couple of disinterested teenagers and a bouncy castle,slides and ride toys. It does not include food, drinks, decor,etc.

    You did an outstanding job for your son. He’s one lucky kid.

  6. You are so clever.

    I love thinking of Esperanza helping you out, entertaining the kids so thoroughly. (Truth be told, I wish I could be there with you two!).

  7. elizabethkbaker

    Great job- and your little pirate is so cute! Happy Birthday to him!

  8. Great pinata! That’s a fun party theme!

  9. Looks like fun and creative! Way to go and happy, happy birthday to your son (and daughter)! 🙂

  10. I had a ton of fun getting slated by balloon swords, despite the power of my magic septre. Thanks for inviting me!

  11. Wow, you really covered all the bases there, Supermom! 😉 I think you look adorable as a pirate!

  12. Erwin Theurer

    bookmarked!!, I love your blog!

  13. Cutest little pirate ever. 😉

Leave a Reply

