Fall Fashion Vision Board: Hollywood Edition

Cher Horowitz: “What’s up, Daddy?”
Mel Horowitz: “What the hell is that?!”
Cher Horowitz: “A dress.”
Mel Horowitiz: “Says who?”
Cher Horowitz: “Calvin Klein.”
Clueless

I like my Fall Fashion Vision Board, much more conveniently located on Pinterest and not taped and plastered to my closet wall, like my vision walls of yore. But now that November is here and more dressy (and chilly) events are approaching, I’d like to add some classic Hollywood images to inspire upcoming November events.

Once upon a time, I had a salmon mohair sweater with embedded Swarovski crystals. I bought it at Joseph in London and unfortunately it didn’t make the move back to the US. I love the Hollywood heritage of the mohair sweater, an item that bestows innocence yet glamor. Think Betty Elms in Mullholland Dr.

I would love to have a sweater like this to be warm, yet look glamorous at a Thanksgiving dinner. Longer though, a little less snug and with a cute pencil skirt.

I have my eye on this vintage mohair sweater in butterscotch. I may consider sewing on Swarovski crystals for that extra glam look.

***

We’re getting into the colder weather around here. Coats are tough: some can impart excess bulkiness.

One particularly chic coat suitable for the very city I live near was this gorgeous white coat with the black gloves and turtleneck, from Vertigo. Not super smart for a mom of two pre-schoolers, but gorgeous none the less.

This Valentino coat from the 90s has a similar feel.

***

Aw, plaid, and CHER! One of my beloved characters of the 90s. I so wanted her computer which picked out her adorable, fierce and super short outfits. (But NEVER anything from Judy’s!)

I love a good plaid skirt, and fall is the best time to wear one.

Here’s a cute and more appropriate skirt length than Cher’s. Vintage Burberry: in fact, I think my mom bought this skirt on her honeymoon in London.

Are there any outfits or styles you love from the movies? Which ones would you love to try?

4 Comments

Filed under movies, My Favorite Things

4 responses to “Fall Fashion Vision Board: Hollywood Edition

  1. Clueless has got to be one of the very best movies out there. So funny. So many quotable lines.

    I don’t really pay attention to fashion, not even in movies. I’ll have to think about which character I’d like to emulate.

  2. Anything Lauren Bacall ever wore.

  3. Love that Burberry skirt! Like Esperanza, I’ve never really thought about fashion much. But so far, of all your fashion posts, I think this one has the most items I’d like to have (if they looked good on me, of course).

Leave a Reply

