Terrible News

Photo from Snips, Snails and Puppy Dog Tales

About a year ago, I asked Esperanza if there were any bloggers she recommended who were not in my reader. She told me about her friend Elizabeth, whose son has special needs and whose grace, courage and resilience always blew her away. I quickly added her to my reader, and have been inspired and moved by her writing many times since. Elizabeth’s beautiful son Grayson was diagnosed with Mitochondrial Disease. Elizabeth has been fiercely fighting for answers and treatments and today she received the worst answer imaginable. Grayson has Leigh’s Disease and isn’t expected to live past childhood.

Elizabeth is handling this diagnosis with her typical mixture of grace and love:

“I do know that we are more determined than ever to give Grayson the happiest life we can – however long or short it is. And this little guy certainly doesn’t know anything has changed. We just love him so, so much and will celebrate his life every day (and big time next Saturday when he turns TWO!).”

I often think of Elizabeth as Supermom: strong and brave and smart. But today, this Supermom could use some support. Please visit her and shower her with love and light.

Elizabeth, you and Grayson are in my heart tonight. I wish I had more to say, but please know that I am here abiding with you.

xoxoxo

Jessica

3 Comments

Filed under Sad

3 responses to “Terrible News

  1. Thank you for letting us know. I went over to read and comment. Sending lots of thoughts and prayers their way.

  2. What horrible news to recieve, my heart goes out to them.

  3. Thank you so much for posting this and for reaching out to my family in this devastating week. I am truly amazed and grateful for the support I’ve received from this community.

Leave a Reply

