A Happy Occasion: The Bodega Bliss Baby Shower

Yesterday I was honored to attend the Bodega Bliss baby shower. I teared up as I told her friends and family:

“I have dreamed about attending this baby shower for a long time.”

It did not disappoint.

When I met Emily, one of the first things she asked me was: “How’s Bodega?” I think Courtney’s story and words have touched so many hearts in the ALI world and beyond.

“The Devastation of Pregnancy Loss” was the first “Faces of ALI” portrait I wrote. I had been close friends with Courtney for over a year, and I both saw in person and read on the page about her struggle with RPL. I saw how drained she was, emotionally, physically and financially. So whenever I would see one of those awful empathy-free articles about infertility and loss in the mainstream media, mostly profiling the wealthy and whimsical (and, ugh, don’t get me started on the gross comments!), I would boil over with anger.

Addendum: Not too much has changed, alas: Mel pointed out a crass and classless “opinion” piece about the late Maeve Binchy (published on the day of her funeral, no less!), which questioned whether her childlessness made her a lesser author.

Courtney has navigated this pregnancy, her fifth, with a unique equanimity and serenity. It’s been inspiring to follow.

The shower, like its recipient, was heartfelt and beautiful. Courtney accepted every gift, every gesture of goodwill, every piece of advice with so much love and thankfulness and often tears of joy. Court’s bloggy friends Esperanza and Izzy were also attendees. At one point, Courtney explained how the four of us met. That we were all ALI bloggers. To the testament of her friends and family, no one flinched or blanched. Conversation continued to flow and there was no “EEEK!” reaction.

You know, that noise when the record needle abruptly gets yanked in unoriginal movies?

The sound of the conversation slowly turning to other things in a natural way was a glorious and triumphant moment.

16 Comments

Filed under Faces of ALI, Infertility

16 responses to “A Happy Occasion: The Bodega Bliss Baby Shower

  1. Eep! This is so cute and awesome, and I see my friend Sarah peeping through from behind the owl! I hope I get a chance to meet some of you when I come back to visit in Nov. Congrats Courtney!!! This is so wonderful and you look so beautiful and radiant and glowy and lovely. šŸ™‚

  2. Esperanza

    A wonderful day indeed. I was so happy to share it with both of you.

  3. I LOVE this post! It fills me with such joy to see you all together, and to see Courtney so happy … she’s been in my thoughts ever since her announcement, and I’m looking forward to meeting her beautiful babe. Thanks for bringing us all there with you!

  4. How cute is she??? I love Bodega’s blog and think of her all the time. Hers was one of the first blogs I lurked before I started writing and the way she wrote, and her story, really grabbed ahold of me and never let go. I don’t like to say who deserves what in life (it’s not my place) – but she deserves nothing but happiness and I’m so tickled to see her so darned happy!

    Thank you for sharing this!

  5. LOVED this post!! How fun that you all got to be there to support her and that her family didn’t blink an eye about you being scary ALI internet friends. šŸ™‚

  6. So the tears, of course, are back. I can’t seem to get rid of them these days….but at least they are finally happy ones, no longer ones riddled with grief. These days, and especially yesterday, they were tears of absolute gratitude. Thank you for this, and for being there with me yesterday. I can’t tell you what it meant to have you, Izzy and Esperanza there to (finally!) celebrate. I never thought I would be here, I never thought a celebration for my baby would ever exist. But it did, and this pregnancy is real and there is no doubt in my mind that I could not have gotten here without your love and support throughout the past years. I’m not just grateful for this pregnancy, I’m incredibly grateful for your friendship and feel so honored to have you in my life. I feel like one hell of a lucky woman. I can only hope that every woman struggling with infertility and repeat loss can find support like I have, and eventually be blessed with happiness like I have been.

    This post brings me joy all over again. Thank you. And thank you to every one of you that is leaving such sweet comments and thinking about me! I sound like a broken record here, but I could not feel more blessed. xoxo

  7. This post brought such a smile to my face. I’ve been following Courtney for awhile and often wonder how she is doing. It means even more to me now that I am officially navigating the RPL waters to see such a happy ending for her. It gives me so much hope. Thanks for sharing these lovely pictures.

  8. What a lovely post, a lovely day, and more importantly, a lovely celebration of something that is so wonderful.

  9. Such beautiful news – so lovely to read this after “meeting” Courtney through your faces of ALI profiles.

  10. Lovely post for a lovely gal. And how great to have friends and family who don’t react with the record-scratching-silence when you say something personal like that. I’d be jealous of your bloggy friendships, but I can’t really complain because I’ve got some good ones in my city too. If only our cities were closer together… šŸ™‚

  11. such a beautiful photo. and what a momentous celebration! yay bodega! and hooray for friends.

  12. This post makes me so happy! That sounds like a wonderful celebration of a wonderful soon-to-be mama. And I’m so glad all of you were there to share it.

  13. Yay! What a wonderful post to read and great pictures to see! So happy that you all got to be there with Bodega to celebrate after all she has been through to get to this day. Sending lots of peace, love, light, thoughts and prayers your, her and that baby’s way in the days to come.

  14. Oops, I was logged in under a work account and forgot. Please delete the other comment. Anyway, what a happy day and a happy post! So happy for her!

  15. Oh this post made me so happy! Sounds like a wonderful shower! So so happy for you Courtney! You are looking great! Wishing you so much joy in the last part of your pregnancy and with your beautiful little one!

  16. What a wonderfully special celebration!! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

