Top Post Countdown, Number 2: The New York Times and Their Crappy Infertility Coverage

Here’s the story on my second most favorite post, ever.

My dad was really ill last year after a surgery for colon cancer. He was in and out of the hospital for months. Thankfully, he’s on the mend now. As I have mentioned before, he had a very distinguished career as a journalist, covering the biggest stories of his day. I had spoken to him many times about The New York Times and their really inferior coverage on the topics of Adoption, Loss and Infertility. We agreed they only covered it from two angles: the 1% angle (when most people suffering from infertility in America can’t afford treatments or adoption) or the issue of choice.

I finally decided to write about the topic, and I spent weeks writing this one post. Once completed, I ran it past bloggers I really respected who had taken on big issues before: Esperanza, Keiko and Mel. And still, I hesitated to hit the publish button. I was afraid.

Ultimately, I did, and I’m glad I did. People still find the post by searching for “New York Times infertility.” And that makes me feel good.

Do you know what number one is?

2 Comments

Filed under Infertility

2 responses to “Top Post Countdown, Number 2: The New York Times and Their Crappy Infertility Coverage

  1. I am glad that people are still finding that awesome post!

    As for #1, I am guessing it is one that has to do with Faces of ALI. Either it is the one you wrote about Loribeth or the one that you are going to share on Tuesday, which I am guessing is about Mel.

    Regardless, looking forward to finding out what you chose and reading your newest installment of Faces of ALI on Tuesday! Hope you are having a wonderful time in Tahoe!

  2. This might have been the very first post of yours that I read. I have no idea how I found it, but I did and I’m so glad!

Leave a Reply

