Edible Garden

I miss the city. But one of the big upsides to being in the ‘burbs is having land. We have space to grow our own food. Last year, we grew a bumper crop of tomatoes. This year, my husband wanted to add more edibles.

So Darcy and our son worked for a month to create a salad garden.

Our soil was in a word, rocky. Over 500 rocks were excavated from the small patch reserved for greens. After the rocks were removed and roots were dug up, Darcy painstakingly sifted the soil, and added new potting mix and compost to the patch. Today the greens were ready to be planted.

I have to say that this project sort of annoyed me. Darcy was literally digging ditches. There were other things he could have done, like building a chicken coop, which I was more into.

Now I am eating my words. He designed, built and properly planted chard, cabbage, lettuce and cilantro.

This year we are growing:

Several varieties of tomatoes
Peppers
Lemons
Strawberries
Rainbow chard
Cabbage
Lettuce
Cilantro
Rosemary
Thyme
Sage
Chives

We’ll see how it goes. But I am excited to eat the fruits of my son and Darcy’s labors.

Maybe Someday?

Next year: CHICKENS!

Do you grow your own food? How is your garden progressing this year? If you are gardening, I’d love to see what you’re growing. Please feel free to write a post and link below!

12 Comments

Filed under Discovering joy

12 responses to “Edible Garden

  1. So awesome that you guys are planting a garden! I hope it thrives.

  2. Very cool! I am impressed and inspired. I do not grow my own food, but would like to try to someday.

  3. Wow! Chickens! I’m impressed. 🙂 We have friends who keep them. We have some persistent groundhogs, but we try (!) to grow tomatoes, lettuce, chard, beans, lettuce, raspberries, parsley, basil, lemon mint, and then there are some volunteer unidentified squash (we compost, and the seeds sometimes end up bearing fruit!). I love the picture of Darcy and your son working on it together!

  4. Sarah

    Love the garden! We planted lettuce, some herbs and cilantro this year, but I normally do tomatoes and pepper, beets, radishes, squash, etc. I just didn’t have it in me to attempt a garden this year. The planting is not usually the problem – it’s the watering that gets me down…

  5. Jem

    I have two raised beds where normally we grow tomatoes, basil, onions, lettuce, and squash. This year? Nada. But in my defense I have a new born. Love growing my own food. Growing up we always had a kitchen garden. Wonderful.

  6. My parents & both sets of grandparents were/are gardeners, as is dh’s father. I mentioned when we moved into our house that it might be nice to have a little vegetable garden in the back corner by our shed. Next thing I knew, we came home from work one day & FIL had dug up a patch & planted it with tomatos, zucchini, carrots (which sadly never did very well) and cucumbers. I didn’t have the heart to tell him I loathe cucumbers ; ) (& of course they probably grew the best of all, lol). He did this for us for several years. I found the watering & weeding hard to keep up, though (not to mention keeping away the squirrels & other pests who kept eating our produce). Also, over time, the trees in the surrounding yards grew so much our garden patch wasn’t getting as much sun & wasn’t doing as well. So we gradually stopped & it’s mostly gone back to grass now. It was fun while it lasted, though, & we did enjoy some nice fresh cherry tomatos & zucchini from our own garden for awhile. Have fun!!

  7. Your garden looks lovely – I hope it thrives. We aren’t allowed to plant anything where we live, but when we first moved in I tried planting lots in pots on our porch. The only thing that survived was the basil and I gave up trying, but I love the idea of growing our own food. I should really try again. We have one lone tomato plant growing near the porch – a seed must have washed off our dirty dishes and taken root. I didn’t have the heart to pull it out and now we have a few green tomatoes that with any luck will ripen soon.

  8. marwil

    In our house it’s my husband who plant and take care of the gardening. He has many citrus trees that give fruit for example. But we also have tomatoes, rhubarb, goose berries and some different herbs.
    Your boys have done a great job, love it!

  9. How wonderful that you get to eat so healthfully during the summer and fall! Kudos to your gardener husband and his helper.

    In past years I have grown a garden — tomatoes, squash, herbs, peppers, greens.

    But this year we got a late start and instead bought a share in a local farm. I think next year we’ll plant again.

  10. We just got rid of all the bushes around our house this year and actually have places to plant things so next year I will be doing lots of planting. We did decide to plant some jalapenos in a big pot and see how they do this year. While weeding my flower bed I discovered a rogue plant. It looks like some sort of squash plant. A bird must have carried some seeds of some sort because I have no idea how it got there. I am leaving it and we will see what grows from it.

  11. St. Elsewhere

    Sending you ‘thrive’ vibes for the new garden.

    I do not have a kitchen garden, but it’s a secret dream of mine – to grow my own veggies…maybe someday.

  12. I hope your garden does well! We have plans to plant a small herb and vegetable garden. We hoped to do it this year, but I think it will end up being next year. It’s sort of funny because my mother and aunts had a huge garden at our house every summer and I hated having to work in it during the summer.

Leave a Reply

