Tattle Tale

Credit: Wikicommons Media

One of the things I thought about including on my list of TIATTY is that I am a sucker for entertainment gossip.

I avoid reading the stuff about celebrity BODY ISSUES, because I really try not to participate in that junk.

But there are some stories I am fascinated by, and some storytellers I really enjoy.

I have mentioned before that I read LaineyGossip. I enjoy her academic approach to how careers are built, she reveals media manipulation into the making of stars and she asks thought-provoking questions about the celebrity world. Like these questions about John Travolta. (Spicy language mentioned!!)

So, obviously the biggest celebrity gossip story this year is Katie Holmes leaving Tom Cruise. It’s a story bigger than gossip, really, because it involves a BIG issue: religion. Also, gothic details: daring escapes! Disposable cell phones! Not Without My Daughter drama!

I have to admit I have done a lot of reading about the split, and Katie Holmes has definitely vaulted to the top of the list of actresses I care about right now. (Before I only really remembered her from The Wonder Boys. Good movie.) According to the media, Katie Holmes is pretty much the most awesome mother who ever took her daughter to the zoo, pet store, cupcake bakery, etc, etc, etc.

Lainey thinks Katie Holmes taught a master at his own game, and I think I agree.

I like Tom Cruise. I love a lot of his films, especially The Firm. I could watch The Firm over and over and over. It’s underrated. And then, there’s Jerry Maguire. Darcy and I quote that movie all the time. Our favorite part is when Cuba Gooding, Jr. is boasting in the locker room.

Rod Tidwell: “Jerry Rice, Andre Reed, Chris Carter? I smoke ALL those fools!”

Unimpressed Fellow Football Player in the Locker Room: “Yeah, yeah, yeah.”

There’s a lot of “yeah, yeah, yeahs” around here.

Tom Cruise’s PERSONAL life is, whatever. But he kind of made his personal life our business when he went on Oprah and acted berserk about Katie Holmes, right? That clip still remains one of the strangest things I have EVER seen in my life. Also, I never noticed just how UGLY that famous couch was before.

I have my own personal feelings about Scientology (email me if you care) but I cannot remember a religion being so closely tied to a public figure’s personal drama before. It makes me a little…wary, to be honest.

What do you all think? Do you read about celebrities and the entertainment business?

PS: Please don’t let this be about Jon Hamm. That would give me the sads.

11 Comments

Filed under Family

11 responses to “Tattle Tale

  1. SRB

    You know I’m a Lainey-aholic too, even if I don’t know who half the people are anymore. I would love to attend classes at her Faculty.

    But it’s totally Jon Hamm. 😦

  2. Bon

    I’d love to hear your thoughts about Scientology! It makes me super wary too, I just don’t get it.
    I feel the same way you do about the split- I’m super impressed with Katie and didn’t think she had it in her, but she’s so much stronger than their marriage and relationship made her seem. I always liked her (from Dawson’s Creek mostly), but she confused me with the whole Tom thing- I didn’t get that either. 😛

  3. I’d love to hear your thoughts too. I was never a big fan of Katie Holmes before, but I like her now. I am a huge fan of Blind Gossip and Celebitchy.

  4. #1 – I am so going to check out LaineyGossip!
    #2 – There are very few celebrities that I give a damn about. But this story? I am intrigued! Just like the Tiger Woods situation when that was going down, I just want to know EVERYTHING about this. I’m ashamed to say it. I’m embarrassed. But alas, it is true!

    The good thing is that I’m no longer in the workforce, so I can stalk celebrity news in the privacy of my own home. During the Tiger Woods situation, I would take a thousand bathroom breaks just to check TMZ on my phone. Horrifying!

  5. I never heard of Lainey, but will have to check her out. My guilty pleasure, when I read and get most of my celebrity gossip, is every 7 or 8 weeks when I go to get my hair cut and colored. My longtime hair dresser stocks lots of current People and Us magazines. So while my color is setting I get my fix. For years I used to also subscribe to Entertainment Weekly, which doesn’t have nearly as much gossip, but made me feel like I was “in the know.”

    I don’t get Scientology either. I had a distant cousin/by marriage who was a Scientologist, which always fascinated me. But she died many years ago and I never really got to talk with her about her choice of religion. I think certain religions that claim to have all the answers can feel safe to its members. That said, I am a life-long practicing (and questioning) catholic who doesn’t believe in everything the Catholic church teaches, but still choose to be a part of this religion and think that is okay.

    I also never saw the connection with Katie and Tom. I got that he is Tom Cruise and she is beautiful and talented. But there were many things about their relationship that perplexed me.

    As an aside, we quote a lot in our house too and Jerry McGuire lines are definitely in the mix! 🙂

  6. Never heard of Lainey. I will admit to peeking at People & US on the newsstands (& buying them occasionally). ; ) i used to watch Entertainment Tonight a lot, but it got too tabloid for my tastes (plus dh controls the clicker & would rather watch reruns of The Big Ban Theory for the 20th time).

    I’m not up on all the celebs these days (I did not know — or really care — who the Kardashians were for the longest time — and then I learned — & I STILL am not sure exactly why they are famous, or why I should care…!) but the big ones like Tom & Katie, yeah, sure. ; )

    I’ve liked Tom in his movies, especially the early stuff — Risky Business was a huge favourite of mine. But I lost a LOT of respect for him after he ditched Nicole Kidman the way he did, just after they had renewed their vows, too. It sort of got lost in all the coverage then, but I heard that right around the time he dumped her, she found out she was pregnant — and then had a miscarriage — after years of infertility too. I have been hearing that Tom is “shocked” that Katie ditched him like that, and I just keep thinking about Nicole & that “Payback’s a b*tch, huh Tom?” :p

    @Kathy, I LOVE EW — it is my absolute favourite magazine. I buy it as soon as it comes out on the newsstand (Thursdays hereabouts) & read it on the homeward bound train that afternoon.

  7. I never cared much for celebrity gossip. Unless I’m waiting for a doctor. Being an actress for 20 years, I’ve been at the periphery of some of the celebrities, and seen that for the most part, they’re just really just as dysfunctional as the rest of us – except they get paid incredible amount of money and get away with bad behaviour with very little, if any consequences. Except playing Russian roulette with drugs and alcohol – that almost always results in death. People who make money for other people get a giant pass. And no, those skinny ones don’t eat much either.

  8. By the way, I’ve met Cuba Gooding Jr, and he’s wonderful.

  9. I am completely out of the celebrity loop. But I confess to reading tabloid headlines when I’m standing on line at the grocery store checkout. It’s like a train wreck; I can’t help but look. 🙂

  10. So sad if that is Jon Hamm. I admit I never understood the appeal when I just saw him in still photos – not my type at all – but wow, he sizzles onscreen.

    Celebitchy has done a lot of digging into the Scientology stuff – that’s where I usually go for my celebrity gossip fix – and sometimes they link to Lainey.

    As you saw on my blog I’ve been trying to (and mostly succeeding) walk away from it all – but I agree with your take on the whole TomKat thing.

  11. I have got to check out LaineyGossip asap!

    I admit that I’m a sucker for the gossip mags. Lovely, brainless entertainment.

Leave a Reply

