Cooking the Classics: Happy Fourth of July! And, Banana Cream Pie!

Summer and pie go hand in hand, right?

Darcy found out it was National Pie Week, and he decided to celebrate by making the Chocolate Banana Creme confection pictured above for the 4th of July party we were invited to.

I LOVE Banana Cream Pie. Bodega Bliss made me one for my birthday. It was awesome.

Here’s Darcy’s adaptation of the Food & Wine Black-Bottom Banana Cream Pie:

FILLING AND TOPPING
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/4 cup cornstarch
4 large egg yolks
2 1/2 cups milk
2 tablespoons unsalted butter
1 tablespoon pure vanilla extract
3 1/2 ounces bittersweet chocolate, chopped
3 medium bananas, sliced 1/2 inch thick
Buy a pre-made Oreo pie crust. Bake according to the instructions on the package.

Food & Wine Instructions
In a large saucepan (preferably with a rounded bottom), combine the granulated sugar with the cornstarch, egg yolks and 1/2 cup of the milk and whisk until smooth. Whisk in the remaining 2 cups of milk and cook over moderate heat, whisking constantly, until the custard is very thick, about 5 minutes. Remove from the heat and whisk in the butter and vanilla extract until the butter is melted. Pour half of the vanilla custard into a medium bowl.

Whisk the chopped chocolate into the custard in the saucepan until it is melted. Spread the chocolate custard evenly in the pie crust and top with the sliced bananas. Carefully spread the vanilla custard over the bananas. Refrigerate the banana cream pie until it is well chilled, at least 6 hours and preferably overnight.

Darcy’s topping:

Buy canned whipped cream. Top the pie with it when ready to serve, and garnish with grated pieces of chocolate.

What’s your favorite kind of pie? Will you make a pie to celebrate National Pie Week? If so and you write a post about it, please link in the comments. I love to read about pie and I love to look at pictures of pie.

Happy Fourth!

11 Comments

Filed under Cooking the Classics, cooking?!?

11 responses to “Cooking the Classics: Happy Fourth of July! And, Banana Cream Pie!

  1. I didn’t know it was pie week! That’ll be a good surprise when Ian gets home from work tomorrow.

    I’m not a fan of banana cream, but that looks good! I make a lot of apple and pumpkin.

  2. Looks yummy and fun. Love you and miss you!

  3. I’m going to make cabbage pie tomorrow, but that’s not worth posting on your site. πŸ˜‰ Believe it or not, I’ve never eaten banana cream pie … !

  4. That looks absolutely delicious. My favorite kind of pie is Caramel Apple Crunch pie http://abcnews.go.com/GMA/recipe?id=6949829

  5. I have never tried banana creme pie either, but now want to eat some! That looks and sounds delicious! The only pie I have ever made was pumpkin and it was a long time ago. My favorites are Baker’s Square French Silk and anybody’s Dutch Apple, especially warm with ice cream on top (vanilla or even better, cinnamon). Now I am hungry and craving pie. Happy (belated) 4th of July to you! What an adorable picture of you and your daughter (LOVE both of your dresses and shoes) and your hubby looks pretty handsome carrying that pie too!

  6. Adorable pictures! I am not a huge fan of pie, but I’ve been thinking about making a pie recently. I like berry pies and chess pies.

  7. Darn! I missed pie week! I am going to have to make one when my Hubby gets back from his business trip. Pumpkin pie is my absolute favorite!

  8. I have never made pastry. I HAVE made lemon meringue pie using a frozen pie shell & lemon filling mix, & they’ve turned out well. Also a strawberry pie (with pie shell). (One of my girlfriends’ ex-husbands was an EXCELLENT pie maker — he actually won contests.)

    I do like pie, particularly apple and lemon meringue. I never liked pumpkin pie as a kid, although I have a feeling if I tried it now as an adult, I’d probably like it. ; ) My grandmother LOVED pie, and apple pie in particular (& she was a great baker, too). One year for her birthday, my mom & I made four apple pies & set them all in front of her with candles in them instead of cake — made a great picture. ; ) More than once, I came downstairs in the morning to find her eating pie for breakfast.

    This year at Christmas (on Boxing Day), we were playing cards around midnight & someone remembered there was pie we hadn’t eaten yet. My sister perked up & said, “Pie??” And so we wound up eating apple pie at midnight. Grandma would have heartily approved. ; )

Leave a Reply

