For the Love of the Blog, Part Two

I had to share this photo of Darcy, who met his hero Chris Berman. It pretty much made his year. As some wag on Facebook commented, “He seems really engaged.” Heh.

Big round of applause for WordPress: they are listening to us about the commenting! Check it out. Thank you, WordPress. I am impressed. Please add your problems commenting to the thread: they are checking.

I wanted to share Part Two of blog posts which moved me.

From Part One:

Today I was thinking how grateful I am to many bloggers for hitting that “publish now” button. Some of the posts that reverberate in my mind were famous, most weren’t. Some got hundreds of comments but most didn’t. What I realized is that validation, something discussed a lot recently in the blogosphere, isn’t just about the immediate impact of that first rush of page views and comments. It’s also the aftermath, the possibility to move someone even years later, to some emotion.

So without further ado, Part Two.

Apartment Therapy (Maxwell Gillingham-Ryan): Melting the Walls & Opening Up to Love Weekend Meditation. An unexpectedly moving post about walls, physical and otherwise, from a home decor writer. “Unlike in our real house, when we melt our own walls we do not discover that our roof falls in. On the contrary, our entire being opens up to the world again, and the sun comes streaming in.” Love.

Breed ‘Em And Weep: The Big Why. Vivid description of what it’s like to suffer from Bipolar Disorder.

Clay Baboons: “What Not to Say to Someone With an Uncooperative Uterus“. ZOMG: the funny! The wavy frowny line cracks me up, every time. Plus, educational!

Family Building With a Twist: An Open Letter to My Son’s Preschool Teachers. So honest and moving….

Hyperbole and a Half: Depression. Whoa.

Lainey: Yes, I read Lainey 🙂 This was a fascinating look at the way celebrities have influenced mothering and this year’s “mother’s day on steroids.”

Live From the 205: Bookworm. A grandfather imparts a love of reading, via the same leather-bound gold-leafed books my dad gave me, and his granddaughter remembers.

Love That Max: The disturbing results of a quest to educate people not to use the word “retard.”

Miss OhKay: An education about the Democratic Republic of Congo, where Miss E was adopted from. Chilling, informative, unfathomable.

Once a Mother: Tending to Our Wounds tells the story of the “towel baby” and strongly and unforgettably makes the point how important it is to grieve and express yourself.

Pioneer Woman: Ten Important Things I’ve Learned About Blogging. This post is pretty much my blogging manifesto.

Shifty Shadow: The Garden. Achingly poignant analogy about loss.

Suburban Homestead: The Secret Society. Beautifully written piece about, well, you have to read it to find out!

Truth and Cake: What Did You Give Up, To Get What You Got? Tremendous, provoking post about why society expects us to “have it all.”

I hope you enjoy this reading material. I feel like blogging has kind of slowed down in general. Do you agree? Is it the summer doldrums?

10 Comments

Filed under Blogging, writing

10 responses to “For the Love of the Blog, Part Two

  1. SRB

    Lainey is the best. I love that you loves you some Lainey.

    Allie’s “Adventures in Depression” is such stunning portrayal of what it feels like, even if you *know* why you are depressed (cough *IF* cough).

    Forgot to add “my picks” to your last post, so I will just stick them here:
    1) “A Four-Letter Word” by Sars at Tomato Nation. A dissertation on the word slut. http://tomatonation.com/culture-and-criticism/a-four-letter-word/

    2) “…Some Tough Love (Sorry)” from Kate at Busted Plumbing. The infertile’s end of the bargain on being given (even/especially sensitively) a pregnancy announcement. If you need space and distance, you have to ask for it. Don’t be an asshole. Some tough love for sure, but sometimes needed. http://www.bustedplumbing.com/2010/01/part-two-from-yesterdays-post-some.html

  2. Thanks for sharing all these great posts. I remember a bunch of them and go back to lots of different ones every once in a while. Ones that I really connect with or when I need to laugh or lift my hopes.

  3. We are lucky you’ve archived this all for us … SO much to read … I need another 50 hours in my day!

    Oh, and have I mentioned lately how RAD you are? Because you are. 🙂

  4. Thank you for the inclusion! I’m still trying to get through all the wonderful posts you linked to in Part 1.

  5. Oops, I forgot to address your question. I do think it is the time of year. School’s ending. People are thinking about vacations. Conference season is starting. For some jobs, it’s the end of their fiscal year, meaning extra work. The weather is starting to be nice consistently.

  6. I am so honored to be included! Thank you, thank you 🙂

  7. Thanks for the shout-out! I can’t wait to look through the other posts. Thanks for compiling them!

  8. Thanks again for some great Sunday reading!

  9. Pingback: Oh, Calamity, Part Two: Faces of ALI update | Too Many Fish to Fry

Leave a Reply

