Perfect Moment: It Was a Bodega Blissful Kind of Day

My computer works! Hooray! Just in time for Lori’s Perfect Moment Monday.

Yesterday, I had many perfect moments, chez Bodega Bliss.

Many of you know and love Bodega Bliss. I visited her yesterday (I know you’re jealous) and no surprise, her home is worthy of being featured on the pages of a glossy Design*Sponge book. She lives about five minutes from the sea in a small town. Her home is a converted barn and is full of quirk, charm and beauty in that uniquely personal way that is impossible to reproduce.

Some days I relax by pulling up a virtual chair at her cozy table with Esperanza and enjoying a bowl of her made-from-scratch curried butternut squash soup. Or eating a homemade whoopee pie. And talking and talking until the sun goes down and the winding road calls me back home to the burbs, where the air is less magical. Yesterday, THAT WAS MY REALITY!

I took some photos for inspiration. Not pictured: the smell of salt and delicious food, rolling hills dotted with picturesque cows.

Bodega’s husband is a devoted surfer.

Artwork wall and personal photos. Most of the artwork Bodega found on Etsy.

Pull up a cozy rocker

Bookcase against the original barn walls

Stag head

Salvaged chair, repainted and reupholstered by Bodega.

Chef and baker extraordinaire

Barn walls with hoofmarks! Rad.

Soaring barn ceilings

Le sigh.

8 Comments

Filed under Design, Perfect Moment

8 responses to “Perfect Moment: It Was a Bodega Blissful Kind of Day

  1. How amazing!! I’m glad you had a great time!

  2. I am so jealous of you all. May I just transplant the lot of you to Denver?

    Hmmm…the barn we could do but the sea might post a challenge…

  3. Yeah, I’m more than a little bit jealous! Living in a converted barn is my dream! Sounds like a wonderful day.

  4. Esperanza

    How have I not commented on this?! That was a wonderful day. So wonderful. I so need you two in my life and when I come home from being with you both it’s like something inside of me is full again. Thank you for driving up with me!

    • I think this post was up for about a minute before the, er, incident…

      • I can’t believe I haven’t seen this until now. 😦 How fun to see my house on your blog! What a jerk I am for not seeing it when you posted it. (I’m starting to wonder if this promotion was worth it!)

        Thanks for loving my home…and for coming and visiting and sitting on my couch and being my friend.

        I’m the luckiest girl in the world.

  5. Here from PMM! What a wonderful REALITY for you to have this week, especially in light of the many challenges you also faced! You have such a way with words, describing your day with Bodega and I love the photos you shared of her cozy home. I agree with Lori, though I would prefer to transplant all of you to the Midwest, specially Chicago. 🙂

  6. Yea, I am so jealous too. I always wanted to live in a converted barn!

Leave a Reply

