Bikinis, Confidence and Scarlett Johansson

Photo copyright of The Superficial.

Scarlett Johansson wore a bikini and people are all up in arms about the fact that she has cellulite.

Her body is pretty similar to mine. (Although her hips-to-waist ratio is better.) Right now my boobs are looking good. They’ve never looked better. But…when you have boobs and a butt and you have very pale skin and you’re of Northern European descent: chances are you will have cellulite.

You can tell in the series of photos she is very confident in her body. She knows she’s beautiful: she looks fit and proportional and sexy.

I went to Target to buy bathing suits and was dreading seeing all the bumps and spots. A funny thing happened, though: I began to see what I LIKED about my body rather than what I didn’t. I liked how long my arms and legs are. I liked my collarbone. I liked the way certain bathing suits made my stomach look.

I have no idea how this happened or why, but it was a very welcome development.

SO, what do YOU like about your body?

11 Comments

Filed under body shit

11 responses to “Bikinis, Confidence and Scarlett Johansson

  1. I’m glad to read a confident post from you! How tall are you? I think ScarJo is interesting looking & I appreciate her curves. What I like about myself are my legs. No matter what I weigh, they are long & pretty shapely (despite my abhorrence for exercise).

    • Oh & I’m almost 5’10”. I like being tall. My father & grandfather were 6’7″ & 6’6″ respectively and I hope Daniel inherits their height

  2. Esperanza

    It’s funny you should post about this because I just went to the store and tried on a pair of pants and thought, damn, those look pretty good. And they were stretchy so they’re sure to be comfortable.

    I’m pretty good at looking past the parts of my body I don’t like (my stomach, where ALL my fat sits under a mess of gnarled stretch marks) to see the parts that I do like. I love my cheek bones (they only appeared in the past five years and I adore them), my arms and long and muscular (thank you yoga) and I’ve always had rocking legs.

    As I’ve grown older and become more accepting of my body I’ve learned what clothes accentuate my strengths and which draw attention to my weaknesses. Knowing what looks good on me makes me feel so much better about myself, and I don’t waste time lusting over the style that will never flatter me.

    As for swim suit shopping, I’m usually so overjoyed that I’m going somewhere that requires a bathing suit I hardly notice what I look like in it. 😉

  3. veetamia

    I like my collarbone and hair! So hard though, to look past all the ‘flaws’ and shut down the negative self-talk and be gentle enough with ourselves to see our good and appreciate it 🙂

  4. You know what, this is just what I needed to read. Thank you for taking time to write about something we all struggle with in one way or another.

    My favorite part of my body? My green eyes and my long legs. My legs may not be the most toned these days, and they might have their fair share of cellulite, but they are still far longer than a lot of folks. I’ll take what I can get. 🙂

  5. I have great boobs. Really great. Unfortunately, when one is fairly modest, they become a hard part to show off, but at least I know they’re there. My hair is decent too.

    I’m glad you’re feeling good about yourself. I’ve thought you are beautiful in every photo you’ve ever posted, for what it’s worth.

  6. Now, see? Airbrushed people who have no wayward pubic hair, and only the good kind of curves and unblemished skin — that’s like how the NYT treats infertility stories — not typical, just sensational.

    The real Scarlett Johansson, in all her glorious realness and cellulite, is like your series, The Faces of ALI.

    Fantastic that you see good things when you don a swimsuit in front of a mirror.

  7. I hate that I’m struggling to come up with an answer. The thing is, I feel like I’ve been more focused on my insides (and I’m not talking about my soul) lately, and not focusing at all on my outside. So I’m not liking too much, is my point. I used to really love my boobs, but then after being pregnant four times, they’re just not as impressive. I like my hands, I guess.

    I’m so happy to read a post from you about something you’re feeling good about body-wise. SO happy. 🙂

  8. Wow, I am loving that confidence! I like my butt, especially in the right jeans. And as long as they’re not skinny jeans, my long legs are kind of nice, too. 🙂

  9. Love this post. And for the record, in the pictures you’ve posted, you look beautiful. 🙂

    Me? I love my abs. And my long neck and collarbone when I wear my hair up. Thanks for posting this today!

  10. I love that you wrote this post!! Like others have said love hearing the confidence and positivity.

    Hmmm…I like my eyes, but if we gotta go with actual body then I will say my hips. I know I may be crazy since I am very over weight and there are lots of stretch marks on them, but I like the curve and it makes me feel sexy.

Leave a Reply

