Time Warp Tuesdays: Comments Please

You guys, I just almost wrote a post entitled “Trees, Leaves and Such.” And it would have been a bunch of photos of a bunch of BORING TREES. NaPloBloMoWTH has almost defeated me, 6 days in.

Luckily, Kathy has saved me from committing that ultimate gaffe and alienating any readers who are still sticking around. I know you guys all have lives and I thank all of you for reading me. It means a lot 🙂 And, I have an INCREDIBLY RAD post waiting in the wings. Probably it will come out tomorrow. It’s a jewel and I am polishing it. I am really proud of it. And you know I’m super hard on myself, so this thing has the goods.

Y’all might remember Kathy’s Time Warp Tuesdays? This week’s theme is “Comments Please!”

Before I begin, I want to point your attention to one of my favorite bloggers out there, who is also an excellent commenter. She used to blog by the name of “Colours of Cattiz” and recently changed blog titles. Now she’s “Writing for Life”. She has always had fascinating things to say, whether about the London riots:

“I live in a town about 30min train-ride from London Paddington. It’s just sad to see these teens get into this because they think it’s “exciting” or looting the stores because there’s free stuff to grab. They have used twitter as a tool to encourage others and give directions of what’s next…Watching the news everyone blames everyone, no surprise. It seems like a giant lack of respect, morals and not grasping right from wrong.

The Prime Minister stated yesterday (on national tv): “If you are old enough to commit these crimes, you are old enough to take the consequences of your actions. You will feel the full force of the law.”

Of course that’s good but I can’t help but thinking if that’s what they really need. Maybe it’s just me but in Sweden we don’t put children in prison. That doesn’t mean they can behave however they like without being taken cared of. It’s just another system.”

Or Fashion:

“There are fashions for all sizes although that’s not how media shows it. As long as you are healthy and happy with your own body I think it should be okay. If you feel content with what you have that will shine through as well. And if your weight is threatening your health, well that’s another issue really.”

Cattiz has always made me think, and often smile. She is never unfair, and thinks of every possible side of a situation. I have been following her voyage closely: on her second IVF attempt, she got pregnant and we were all SO happy for her. (She has many fans.) And then, this news.

Could you all please go to her and let her know that many are thinking of her and support her all the way around? She is just a wonderful woman who should be showered in much love.

OK. Onto the topic at hand, proposed by the excellent Deborah.

“Sometimes we feel really good about a post after we write and share it on our blogs. However, we don’t always get the feedback and validation we crave from our readers. This is your chance to revisit a an old blog entry that you are proud of and invite others doing the Time Warp to read and give it the attention it deserves.

Why did you pick this post?”

Here’s my pick: Moments of Grace

What I love about that post: I was in the midst of a major tough time (probably one of the toughest in my life) and I was reaching for life-affirming things like beautiful music and lovely flowers and good books and food that made me happy. I just want to go back in time and congratulate that version of “me” who was reaching for hope and grace during hardships and say, “You were doing the right thing.”

And this post inspires me to reach for the things now that are life-affirming. I had no friends then who understood. Now I have scores. Things are much better now. We no longer live in a house infested with black mold. And we no longer live with my in-laws, which is what happened after we got EVICTED from the mold house. My daughter’s health drastically improved. (She was pre-asthmatic and had a febrile seizure while we were living in Mold Manor.) I still lost a pregnancy. And I’ll never forget that.

Yet, I rarely have the insight of old me. And so, I post this music, again. You will not regret hearing it. It makes me cry for the beautifulness yet awfulness of the world. Somehow in this one musical interlude, the two combine.

And I dedicate it to Cattiz. I am thinking of you.

6 Comments

Filed under Sad, Time Warp Tuesdays

6 responses to “Time Warp Tuesdays: Comments Please

  1. So glad you are doing the Time Warp this week Jjraffe!!! I am so sorry about your friend’s baby and appreciate you directing us to her. I followed the link to her post and realizing that she is expecting a baby with CHD and having “been there” myself four years ago with our daughter Molly, I spent some time this morning commenting on her post and sharing what I hope will be helpful resources that she might appreciate. So now I need to get some things done, but promise to return later to read and comment on your Time Warp posts. xoxo

  2. Thank you ever so much for this. I still have no words to express all that’s happening and I’m overwhelmed from all the support coming our way in this difficult time.
    Also, did I write these comments.. I do recognize them but as always you put it together so well. You’re a star.

  3. I’m back and am listening to that beautiful and moving peace of music as I type this…

    “This post inspires me to reach for the things now that are life-affirming.”

    ME TOO!!!

    I have been in somewhat of a funk lately and I LOVE the idea of “reaching for the things that are life-affirming,” especially during times when we are struggling.

    I am proud of the “old you” for being able to do this for yourself when you needed it most and happy for the “new you” that though you aren’t dealing with a lot of the same issues that you were challenged with two years ago, you are still able to appreciate/practice focusing on and doing things that are life-affirming. You go girl!

    Thank you for doing the Time Warp again with us this week and I look forward to the rad post that you are polishing! 🙂

  4. Hey, thanks for linking to me (and calling me excellent 🙂 )! I loved your old post. I’ve been doing a lot of that lately, and I’m always surprised to find it actually works. You’d think, how could music take away from problems like black mold and miscarriage? It doesn’t make them go away! But it really does help, and even more, it becomes habit. It’s great to see that you’re in a much better place now than you were then, but hopefully if you hit a rough patch you will remember to reach for things that are life-affirming, as you said.

  5. I’m glad so much has changed for the better since then. It is inspiring to read about someone who consciously decided to reach out to positive things in hard times, and even more so when they’re your own words, proving that you’ve done it before, and can do so again if need be.

  6. Lovely! I’m so glad you included this version.

    I so totally get this: “I had no friends then who understood. Now I have scores.” I went through IF alone, too. This community is an amazing and wonderful thing.

    Abiding with Marwil.

Leave a Reply

