The Dreaded New Year, Resolutions and Greyhounds

“It seems wrong and unfair that Christmas, with its stressful and unmanageable financial and emotional challenges, should first be forced upon one wholly against one’s will, then rudely snatched away just when one is starting to get into it. Was really beginning to enjoy the feeling that normal service was suspended and it was OK to lie in bed as long as you want, put anything you fancy into your mouth, and drink alcohol whenever it should pass your way, even in the mornings. Now, suddenly we are all supposed to snap into self-discipline like lean teenage greyhounds.”

“Bridget Jones Diary”, Helen Fielding

I always thought this particular piece of writing captured perfectly the strange dichotomy between the indulgent holiday season and the resulting Spartan overreaction we all are faced with on New Years’ Day.

The last thing I feel like today is a lean, teenaged greyhound. Oof.

I am mulling over a new idea I have for 2012. It involves radical changes to our whole life.

But right now, I honestly can’t be bothered. Maybe tomorrow will be seem more…inspiring. But today, I think I’m just going to read The Creme de la Creme at Stirrup Queens and continue being lazy.

Are YOU planning any extreme resolutions or lifestyle changes in 2012?

8 Comments

Filed under Family

8 responses to “The Dreaded New Year, Resolutions and Greyhounds

  1. we were discussing this with hubby yesterday
    and I figured – with the baby only a month away, I have MO idea whatsoever what my next year is gonna be like. The baby will dictate the 2012. I will just have to go along with it. The only resolution I am ready to make is to go back to pre-pregnancy weight by the end of 2012. All the rest? Be a great mother. Whatever it means for the little one…

  2. I never actually thought of it that way. I guess I kind of thought that Christmas and New Years just kind of coincided. If I thought about it at all. Because the only time I ever did any kind of resolution stuff was when I was little (under 10) and we made our resolutions in pictures. And I liked doing it, because I liked the way my mom drew stick figures. (Silly, I know.)

    But you read about the 12 challenges in 12 months that I’m doing this year. Which somehow feels entirely different from making New Years Resolution. And is very inspiring.

    I’m excited to find out about these changes brewing for your family. Keep us posted. 🙂

  3. Nope, not a one. Stay tuned for a post that will be basically answering this.

  4. Ana

    I also love that line. I am not planning anything extreme. I’m trying more for little nudges to get me back on track to the person I want to be and the kind of life I want to lead. I’m hoping that small adjustments will ultimately result in a major shift in the course, but we’ll see.

  5. Ha. This is awesome. I should add that I’m writing this comment while downing a pint of Haagen Dazs special edition Peppermint Bark ice cream.

    Take that, greyhounds. (I am in SUCH trouble with myself …)

    I’ve had thoughts about change. But resolutions just don’t seem to stick when I make them for New Years. It’s too arbitrary, like this quote suggests. How many of us are really good at doing ANYthing cold turkey?

  6. Esperanza

    I love that quote. It’s perfect. I had never though of the juxtaposition of the two holidays before, or that fact that the spartan resolution-keeping comes after such intense over-indulgence. I think it always made sense to me because I used to always go really overboard before I was about to start a diet or work toward some other goal. I’m much better about not doing that now, but my penchant for it must have blinded me to Christmas/New Years situation.

    I do have some resolutions in the works. My Time Warp Tuesday post tomorrow will reveal them all!

  7. That is a great piece of writing! Nothing here. I used to sort of do resolutions, but know I don’t. Well, maybe a little one. Focus on the people who accept us as a family and more importantly accept me as a person. Kick the rest to the curb even if I’ve known them a long time. 🙂

  8. Sarah

    So true. As one who loves to follow the traditional 12 days of Christmas and not pack up everything until January 6th, I’ve always found it disturbing how New Years seems to interrupt the festivities and rain on my parade. If it were up to me, carols would be sung, libations had, and plenty of indulgences indulged in until those damn drummers stopped drumming.

Leave a Reply

