The Pomegranate Society, Take Two

Remember a million years ago when I proposed a writing group for those in the ALI community focused on getting books published? Yeah, that. Sorry it has taken me so long to get all my ducks lined up in a row, but I think, after long contemplation and research and just plain old reading, that I have figured out a way to do it that will a) make sense for our writers b) not kick our collective butt but c) get us to move forward.

A quick refresher:

It’s not talked about much, but many of our best female writers are suspected to be fellow infertiles. From Isaak Dinesen to George Eliot, Dorothy Parker to Mary Shelley, who we know had a life-threatening miscarriage and lost her son at the age of three: these great writers were “our people”. They were able to create sustaining works of literature and channel pain into their art.

All you have to do is look through the roster of ALI bloggers to realize that we have some serious talent among us. There’s Mel (the bestselling author!) and Keiko has a novel in the works.

These projects are documented. But I suspect there are many others of us who have a few chapters of a thriller or graphic novel, a book of poetry, a children’s book. A cookbook.

I need a greater push into the arena of publishing, and I think others would too.

What if we were to begin a virtual workshop where we critiqued and helped other writers refine their projects into what they are after? I’m happy to play facilitator and match up groups. I’d love it if by the end of the year we could get at least a few finished work with contracts signed.

The more books by the ALI community, the greater the message gets out. Plus, a nice boost of accomplishment for us all wouldn’t go amiss.

A number of really talented bloggers were interested, but I proposed a punishing schedule that was going to be difficult for many to maintain.

So here’s what I’m thinking now:

I think The Pomegranate Society should have three parts.

1. I still think the best way to get people writing is to pair a blogger with a fellow writer working on a similar project. But this time, I want to do just that: pair you together. Together, you two can create your own timetable. Whether it’s a chapter a week, a proposal review, an outline, advice, etc. I would leave it up to the two of you to set the parameters. I will have, of course, suggestions 😉

2. I would host either weekly or bi-weekly interviews with a writer or publisher or agent or self-publishing expert who can advise us all on the best ways to get published. I would solicit questions from all of my readers, and anyone can visit and be educated.

3. In June, I would host a private, virtual group critique session for those writers paired who are interested in getting a lot of feedback from our other writers and, hopefully, a special guest.

I think this is manageable and workable and we could all learn a lot this way.

So, what say you? I will contact privately those of you already interested.

13 Comments

Filed under The Pomegranate Society, writing

13 responses to “The Pomegranate Society, Take Two

  1. Kathy

    Yay! I am still in and excited to participate! I have been meaning to ask you what was happening with this… So glad to see this post, get an update and be moving forward with this awesome idea/project of yours! I have a book proposal in the works (still early stages) and hopefully this will help motivate me to work on it more! Thank you for doing this! I couldn’t agree more about how talented our community of writers is! 🙂

  2. Yay! I am still in and excited to participate! I have been meaning to ask you what was happening with this… So glad to see this post, get an update and be moving forward with this awesome idea/project of yours! I have a book proposal in the works (still early stages) and hopefully this will help motivate me to work on it more! Thank you for doing this! I couldn’t agree more about how talented our community of writers is!

  3. Oh, I’m still all in. And while I’m petering out on my NaNoWriMo novel (which damnit, I’ll finish! I swear!), I do have an infertility non-fic piece I’d like to hunker down and start writing. Now that my schedule has opened up, I can actually start working on it fairly soon. Would love to pair up!

  4. Esperanza

    I will be there with bells on! Just tell me when and where!

  5. Oh, the peer pressure. 🙂 I still don’t have a good project in mind. The idea is lovely, though.

  6. Oh this post makes me feel guilty because I should and want to participate so much, but I’m just not in a writing state of mind right now. And with all the changes coming, I’m guessing that isn’t going to get better anytime soon. Count me out for now, but come the new year, I will get my butt in gear again!

  7. I’m totally in, except I don’t have a specific project in mind. That’s kind of a major detail when writing a book. 😦

  8. Pingback: Living Joyfully: Remember That?! | Too Many Fish to Fry

  9. Thanks for letting me know about this…I’d love to participate. 🙂 I’m working on a memoir about San Francisco that’s in a pretty unconventional/experimental form…

  10. I am also interested if it isn’t too late.

  11. Pingback: Odds and Ends | Too Many Fish to Fry

Leave a Reply

