Time Warp Tuesday: My Favorite Post, Ever

I’m trying to break out of a funk. I can’t think of a better way to do so than participating in the lovely and talented Kathy’s Tuesday Time Warp.

Today’s challenge is to choose your favorite post, EVER. I have a few favorites. (My Glee/Middle essay came immediately to mind, then I realized that I chose a post about Glee last week. Um, I didn’t think I was a Gleek, but clearly I am!) But today I wanted to highlight something a little more upbeat and inspirational.

A few weeks ago, Lori published the results of a blogging survey, and the results were quite surprising. One of the standout findings was that many bloggers reported they received the most comments on posts which they wrote quickly. That’s certainly true for me. I lavished hours and hours writing, polishing and editing this post. It’s not quite as subtle as I planned in my head, but I love the idea of rediscovering that childlike enthusiasm for adventure I used to possess.

We are having some unseasonal rain, and today I looked up at the hillside the pre-school is nestled into. My favorite neon green was not painted onto the hills: that particular hue takes many days of heavy downpour to achieve, but for a moment I remembered the color and the post. And I had a twinge of that special feeling of possibility and dreaminess. It was lovely.

6 Comments

Filed under Discovering joy

6 responses to “Time Warp Tuesday: My Favorite Post, Ever

  1. Esperanza

    I can understand, when you’re feeling in a funk, why you’d look back fondly on that post. There is something hopeful about it, even though you don’t ultimately discover the technicolor dreamscape, there is something hopeful about your insistance that it does exist. Sometimes I wish very much that I could still believe in things the way I did as a child. I wish…

  2. First off, thank you so much for your kind words! I read your post for the first time last night, after another long, tiring, fun, but over-programmed day. When I saw the nice things you said about me, I read them out loud to my DH, to share how sweet you are! 🙂 It has been a crazy morning, but I finally got a chance to return here and comment.

    I hope that revisiting that old post, writing this new one and participating in Time Warp this week does help you to break out of your funk. Though I know how hard it can be to do, when you are feeling that way. xoxo

    That’s too funny that the first post of yours that came to mind was another Gleeky one! 😉

    Those survey results are interesting! I must have missed that one on Lori’s blog and will have to return to check it out. I have had that experience to though, I will admit there have been posts that I have worked so hard on and been so proud of that I have been disappointed when more people didn’t seem to connect to them and Mel didn’t choose them for her Round Up (not like she doesn’t have soooo many to choose from each week)… So I guess it isn’t always worth trying so hard and better to just let it flow. That said, since so many of us blog first and foremost for ourselves, I think it is not time wasted for us to fine tune our words and write blog entries now and then that we feel really good about, even if others don’t seem to be nearly as enthused.

    I guess that is another cool aspect of Time Warp Tuesdays, is that we can encourage other participants to read these posts that mean a lot to us, that may not have gotten the attention we wanted for them the first time around.

    All that being said, I did really enjoy this post that you chose for this week and am glad that yesterday you had such a nice moment remembering, revisiting, imagining and feeling inspired.

    Thank you for doing the Time Warp again with us this week! It means a lot to me that you participated two weeks in a row and I would love for you to join us again next week! 🙂

  3. That was such a beautiful post, and with words you conjured up the same sensations and emotions in me that you were feeling.

    I’m glad you got to experience dreaminess again. That’s a wonderful feeling, and I’m going to be open to having it, too, now that you’ve brought it into my consciousness.

  4. I’m glad you shared that post, and this one was as much a pleasure to read. Thank you!

  5. Pingback: Titling is Half the Battle « Where Do We Go From Here?

  6. I can feel that nostalgia for a color remembered. It’s amazing how we paint memories in our minds, colors so rich they stain our minds.

    What a sumptuous post you shared with us from earlier this year. I loved this bit: “edible flowers tasting of Turkish Delight.” Literally salivating as I tried to call up this image in my own mind. A great share for TWT!

Leave a Reply

