Tuesday Time Warp: Waiting, Barbra Streisand and Glee

The wonderful Kathy over at Four of a Kind came up with a thoughtful and fascinating idea for a blog hop: “Time Warp Tuesdays”. “Time Warp Tuesdays” allow you to revisit an old blog post, reflect on it and decide whether your perspective has changed since writing the post.

This time, the theme is “Waiting”.

Kathy chose a provoking topic for her first hop. Waiting is a big theme for the ALI community. So much of our time is spent waiting for the next cycle, the next ultrasound, the next test, the next doctor’s appointment. It’s no wonder that Peggy Orenstein titled her memoir about her own journey with infertility “Waiting for Daisy”.

Once I started blogging, my own wait was over: I had just found out I had miscarried at eight weeks, and my twins (conceived after two and a half years of infertility) were almost two. But the two words I associate most with my own infertility journey are “waiting” and “hope”.

Here’s the post I chose: it’s about my Dad’s long wait to interview Barbra Streisand (that diva reputation is deserved), and my attempt to take on the Rachel Berry/Barbra Steisand school of thinking, specifically delineated in the song “Don’t Rain On My Parade”.

Don’t tell me not to fly, I simply got to
If someone takes a spill, it’s me and not you
Who told you you’re allowed to rain on my parade
I’ll march my band out, I’ll beat my drum
And if I’m fanned out, your turn at bat, sir
At least I didn’t fake it, hat, sir
I guess I didn’t make it

Here’s the clip of Lea Michele nailing that song. To the wall.

I was trying to gather the courage to create and post a video for Resolve’s National Infertility Awareness Week. I eventually did and posted it. It certainly didn’t set the world on fire, or win any awards. (In fact, it’s only ever been clicked on 55 times, so I guess I didn’t make it. But, at least I didn’t fake it.)

That song still is my marching orders. When I feel my feistiness falter or my energy flag, this song reminds me that what I DON’T do will have been perfect, but WAITING to take action prevents me, us all, from living, and living now.

9 Comments

Filed under Discovering joy, NIAW

9 responses to “Tuesday Time Warp: Waiting, Barbra Streisand and Glee

  1. That’s a great video brave woman! bravo for punching those myths =)
    And waiting.. that’s a huge part of everyone’s IF-journey I think. We are waiting whilst holding on to hope. Those two words pretty much sum it up.

  2. Here from Time Warp… What t a great post (and video)! I went back to read and comment on the older post you chose and appreciate why you picked it and how you tied everything together.

    I agree that “waiting” is a huge theme in our ALI community and I like that you also pair “hope” with that. They do really go hand and hand.

    I am glad that song brings you so much inspiration and encouragement to do want you want and not be paralyzed by perfectionism. As Esperanza commented on your other post and you mentioned here and have do so in other posts too, I will never understand why certain blogs and/or blog entries become very popular and others that seem more than worthy don’t get as much traffic and feedback.

    I like that this blog hop gives us a chance to revisit, reflect on and give older posts another chance to get some of the attention and comments they deserve.

    Your video was awesome! I applaud you for doing it and putting it out there. Though it may not have for viral, I am sure it spoke to those who have viewed it and if you make a difference in at least one other person’a life and world than it’s worth it, right?! Also, just having recently made a video for a new upcoming Resolve campaign (it’s not too late for your to participate in that one if you are interested), I was impressed with your creativity in putting notes on the back of your posterboards! Clever!

    Thanks again for participating in my first Time Warp blog hop! It was so excited this morning to see that you were the first to link up! I would love to know what you think about the old post I chose and my new one and I hope you consider doing the “Time Warp” with us next week or sometime in the future! xoxo

  3. Watching that video was so therapeutic. Nice work 🙂 It’s so great to see your face & hear your voice, too! 😀

    I’m digging these Time Warp Tuesday posts… off to go read the post you referenced!

  4. I remember that Barbara post. That was epic.

    Is there another community that deals with “waiting” as much or as intensely as the ALI community? I really can’t imagine one that does. It truly seems to be our theme.

    I’ve watched your grow into yourself a lot since you started your blog and not waiting to speak out has been a big part of that. What a wonderful post to bring all of that together and reflect on it.

    I can’t wait to see what you do here next!

  5. JM

    Funny you mention “Waiting For Daisy”. When Dr Boy and I started TTC, my MIL gave me that book to read. She didn’t actually know we were starting to try, she had just read it herself. I had no idea we would have trouble ourselves. I’d love to go back and read it again, coming at it from this perspective.

  6. You rocked it! Now don’t go all diva on us.

    Thanks for including the adoption myth. And now I’ve got that song in my head…

  7. Pingback: Time Warp Tuesday: “Climb Every Mountain” | Too Many Fish to Fry

  8. Pingback: Time Warp Tuesday: Waiting

  9. Pingback: Time Warp Tuesday: All-Time Favorite Post

Leave a Reply

