Welcome, ICLWers!

Welcome to my site! I am so excited to do ICLW again and meet new people and reconnect with old friends.

Since the last time I participated, I’m happy to say that I took the The New York Times to task about their infertility coverage (I am not sure they have noticed) and came out of the closet about my infertility and unhappy to say that I wrote a lot less than I wanted to about joy.

Here’s my greatest hits:

Coming out of the infertility closet (in response to that horrendous Facebook meme)
“Are You Infertile? The New York Times Thinks You are Rich and Whimsical”
“How Strangers Change Our Lives For the Better”
Want to help me make my living room look better with a nothing budget? Sure you do 😉

I recently had my thin, terrible hair blown out at a local strip mall because I am recovering from pneumonia and wanted to feel better. It DID make me feel better.

But enough about me. I want to know about you!

Specifically:
1. What’s the best movie of all time?
2. What do you think can be done to make people more sympathetic and caring about infertility? If anything?
3. Cats or dogs? Why?
4. If you hear the name Beyonce, do you think of the pregnant singer/actress/dancer? Or the metal chicken?
5. What’s your favorite ice cream flavor?

19 Comments

Filed under Discovering joy, ICLW, Infertility

19 responses to “Welcome, ICLWers!

  1. you look GORGEOUS! that strip mall did you right. i love it!

    Even though I’m not participating in ICLW this month (shame on me), can I still participate? Well, I’m going to anyway.

    1. Gah, this is a tough one…one so tough that I don’t think I can answer. The movie I’ve seen the most in my life is Gladiator. But NOT the blockbuster hit from a few years ago, but the one starring James Marshall (where did he go?) and Cuba Gooding Jr. before “Show me the money!” It came out in the mid-90’s and it’s about boxing. I recently made Tim watch it, and it was still just as good as the first time I saw it. I lost count at the 18th viewing. But best movie of all time? I doubt this is it.

    2. I think the more we talk about it, the easier it will be for others to speak up about it, and the more people will become aware of it and more sympathetic by default. maybe? That’s my hope any way.

    3. Dogs. But I love cats, too, but Tim is allergic so we can’t have one. Good thing my dog is more like a cat than a dog, I get the best of both worlds! Except that the part of him that’s like a cat is the “I can’t be bothered right now” part. Doh!

    4. Considering I just read a quote by her saying her pregnancy, “is just so much fun!” right now all I can think about is her being pregnant and how she gets to have fun with it and I never will and that’s just not fair.

    5. Oatmeal Cookie Chunk from Ben and Jerry’s. I liked it so much they discontinued it a while back and I wrote to them begging for them to reconsider. And they did! Not because of my letter, I don’t think, but still!

    Yay! That was fun.

  2. Esperanza

    You’re doing ICLW?! Do you do it every month? I’ll be really curious to see what your experience is. I haven’t done in months, I think since I met you. I hope you have a good time with it.
    Here are my answers:
    1. What’s the best movie of all time? This is impossible. Really. I love too many movies. I refuse to answer this.
    2. What do you think can be done to make people more sympathetic and caring about infertility? If anything? Share your story whenever you can.
    3. Cats or dogs? Why? Cats because we can’t have a dog. But really dogs.
    4. If you hear the name Beyonce, do you think of the pregnant singer/actress/dancer? Or the metal chicken? Both, thank you twitter.
    5. What’s your favorite ice cream flavor? Hmmm. This is also a hard one. Depends on my mood. I think I might have to say Coconut because I feel like I get that the most. Also Nutella Gellato (in Rome) is AMAZING.

  3. Pretty picture! Your hair looks great! I’ve never done ICLW before. Maybe I should now that I’m trying to get back into more actively blogging.

    1. Best movie? Definitely a hard one. I really like The Women (the original, not the piece-of-crap remake). The Lord of the Rings trilogy, especially Return of the King b/c it makes me cry every time. Citizen Kane of course.
    2. I think the more we talk about it, the more we speak up and demand to be heard, the more it will help.
    3. Cats! We have 3. I like an animal whose condescension I must earn.
    4. Mostly the singer but lately the metal chicken tool.
    5. Vanilla. Boring, I know, but I like a simple vanilla. Not uppity French Vanilla but the cheap store brand of vanilla.

  4. Hey there, great photo! Glad you feel better.

    1. Jerry Maguire and Peaceful Warrior (can’t choose between them)
    2. Well, information, education and share our story. Just try to get the message out really.
    3. Dogs, for me I think because you can communicate more with them in another way than cats. But I do love a little kitten as well!
    4. Ah, you just reminded me of the metal chicken! It’s hilarious.
    5. Mandarin flavor is the latest I got hooked at. To bad the best is made down in France/Italy

  5. St. Elsewhere

    Happy ICLW, jjirraffe!

    1. What’s the best movie of all time? I can’t pick out one as a favourite really.

    2. What do you think can be done to make people more sympathetic and caring about infertility? If anything? Unfortunately, nothing sensitizes a person more about IF than having a first hand experience or watching a close friend/family face it. However, I still believe that increased awareness and reducing taboo around IF is a way to make people more ‘caring’ about infertility. I don’t like the word sympathy.

    3. Cats or dogs? Why? Well, a stray cat adopted us as family when we were growing up, and she was very doglike in her loyalty. I don’t have pet animals as such. 🙂

    4. If you hear the name Beyonce, do you think of the pregnant singer/actress/dancer? Or the metal chicken? I think of her moves and a couple of her songs.

    5. What’s your favorite ice cream flavor? Hands down, it is chocolate.

  6. Your blowout looks fabulous!
    1. What’s the best movie of all time? Rudy
    2. What do you think can be done to make people more sympathetic and caring about infertility? If anything? Oh, man, I have no idea, but once you figure it out can you tell me?
    3. Cats or dogs? Why? Dogs & house rabbits. How can you resist a cute rabbit face begging for a carrot from your salad?
    4. If you hear the name Beyonce, do you think of the pregnant singer/actress/dancer? Or the metal chicken? I don’t generally hear the name Beyonce in my life, so I don’t really think anything.
    5. What’s your favorite ice cream flavor? Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough
    Off to check out your other links! Nice meeting you! ICLW #43

  7. Hello from ICLWland! Great posts! You’re very good at eloquently expressing your feelings.

    1. The best movie of all time is Return of the King!
    2. Only experience and being close to someone going through the pain of infertility. I’m not even sure THAT works.
    3. I am definitely a dog person. We have two of them!
    4. The metal chicken! I loved that story!
    5. Peanut butter passion! Yum!

  8. K

    Hello! First, you’re hair is freaking beautiful. Second, thank you for the comment on my blog 🙂 Third, I’ve been following your NY Times campaign (for lack of a better word) and I think you were awesome. They can be ridiculous in their coverage of what is ultimately a very universal problem (infertility affects people of all races, beliefs, socioeconomic backgrounds, etc), but they somehow turn it into this weird niche.

    To answer your questions:
    1. Marie Antoinette (Sophia Coppola)–so insanely lush and pretty
    2. This is a tough one. Honestly, I think the community needs to somehow take on some killer PR. I don’t necessarily think the burden should fall on the shoulders of those who have IF (it is very personal, and we all have a right to our privacy), but there is so much ignorance out there, I just think basic information and facts desperately need to be spread.
    3. CATS! All the way. I’m a sucker for their aloofness.
    4. I seriously love Beyonce and try not to think about her glorious pregnancy. I’d rather just jam out to Crazy in Love and Destiny’s Child.
    5. Vanilla. Simple, classic, delicious.

  9. Thanks for your comment on my blog! I will add you to my reader, too. To answer your questions:
    1. My favorite movie for a long time was Crazy People. Since then, though, I’m not so good at favorites.
    2. We need to talk about it, be open about it. Otherwise, we’ll still have crazy tabloid stories. And to be honest, we’ll probably always have those, but at least there’ll be some counterbalance.
    3. Dogs, because they like people. Why would I want a pet that doesn’t like me?
    4. Actress
    5. Mint chocolate chip. But really, anything with chocolate is good.

  10. Well hello there. I’m digging the questions. So here we go…

    1. Oh man, really? That’s a tough one b/c I love movies so much. SO MUCH. Ok, I’ll put this out there – not my fave, but in my top 10: Lady in the Water. Quite possibly THE MOST ORIGINAL/CREATIVE STORY ever. Even for an M. Night Shamalan flick.

    2. More real people being open and public with their experiences…. like you have! Every story destigmatizes the experiences of 7.3 million others.

    3. Cats. And not just because I have two, but because they poop in a dedicated corner. I don’t have to take them outside to poop in the yard. I’m all for convenient cleanup.

    4. I think of Jay-Z’s newly preggo wife.

    5. So boring, but whatevs: I love vanilla. Love it, love it, love it. It’s my measure of standard anytime I try a new ice cream place.

  11. eggsinarow

    Love the hair!

    1. Um…I have so many. But I really love Garden State. It just hit on so many issues that I relate to. But I don’t know if that is the greatest movie of all time for everyone, or just me…
    2. I’m with Keiko on this one!
    3. Dogs. You can be gone for 12 hours, come home, and a dog greets you like you are the best thing in the world. I love my doggie. He has made my life a better place.
    4. I am trying to think of the giant metal chicken. Mostly because after MO introduced me to her (him?) it changed my life. I am much happier with that post to refer to for a laugh during the day.
    5. Oreo. OMG yum.

    Happy ICLW!

  12. Liv

    1. The Big Labowski – I love the dude!
    2. I think more brave women need to talk about what they are going through
    3. Why not both! I have 1 dog and 2 cats, although I want to kill my cats each morning when they wake me up before 6 AM.
    4. I think of the talented pop signer who is a gazillionaire and gets pregnant with the greatest of ease (or so we think)
    5. Chocolate chip cookie dough

  13. 1. What’s the best movie of all time? When Harry Met Sally
    2. What do you think can be done to make people more sympathetic and caring about infertility? If anything? I think people struggling with infertility should talk openly about it the same way someone would if they were struggling with some other disease.
    3. Cats or dogs? Why? Both!
    4. If you hear the name Beyonce, do you think of the pregnant singer/actress/dancer? Or the metal chicken? I think she should be one of the people who talks about how she struggled with infertility.
    5. What’s your favorite ice cream flavor? Oh man anything with salty and sweet and chocolate all rolled into something creamy.

  14. Kat

    1. What’s the best movie of all time? My favourite movies are Before Sunrise and Before Sunset, but I probably wouldn’t say they were the best movies ever.
    2. What do you think can be done to make people more sympathetic and caring about infertility? If anything? Experience it themselves. I wouldn’t wish it on anyone but I think it’s very difficult to understand it if you haven’t experienced it. Also, perhaps the media could stop portraying infertile women as hysterical.
    3. Cats or dogs? Why? Cats, because my husband doesn’t like dogs.
    4. If you hear the name Beyonce, do you think of the pregnant singer/actress/dancer? Or the metal chicken? The singer, as I had forgotten the metal chicken was called Beyonce!
    5. What’s your favorite ice cream flavor? Chocolate anything.

  15. Your hair looks FANTASTIC! This is my first ICLW week so I’m just being introduced to the blogosphere FAMILY! Love it and your questionnaire is the cutest way to get to know people!
    1. What’s the best movie of all time? The Sound of Music – I still know every word by heart!!!
    2. What do you think can be done to make people more sympathetic and caring about infertility? If anything? All we can do is talk about it honestly. People have been so afraid to speak out that it’s impossible for those not experiencing it to understand or have any empathy.
    3. Cats or dogs? Why? BOTH and equally so – we have one of each – they’re our pseudobabies for now.
    4. If you hear the name Beyonce, do you think of the pregnant singer/actress/dancer? Or the metal chicken? The “Bootylicious” one!
    5. What’s your favorite ice cream flavor? Ben & Jerry’s New York Super Fudge Chunk!

    ICLW #25

  16. Hello! Thanks for keep up on my story. I’m stopping by from ICLW (#19). The hair looks amazing! Here’s a bit about me:

    1) Best movie of all time is clearly Willy Wonka, the original movie. Not the one w/ Johnny Depp, although I like that one too.
    2) I think we need to act as a community to gracefully and powerfully make people aware of the trials and tribulations of an infertility journey. Educate on how hard it is to have success, how hard it can be to adopt, how hard it can be to go through IVF and other procedures and also communicate that this is a DIESASE, not something we are simply, whimsically, throwing $$ away at to cure.
    3) Both. But I have only 1 dog because she would not be willing to share our house with a cat or another dog. And my husband is not a cat fan either.
    4) the former
    5) Turtle (chocolate, carmel & pecans in vanilla ice cream)

  17. 1. Fave movie – While you were sleeping
    2. Infertility – I think that education about infertility as a possibility at a young age might be something to consider in the future as we statistics continue to show that it is something affecting more and more couples. I feel truly blessed that my friends and community have been such a support to us but I know that is not always the case.
    3. Cats, but probably because I grew up with them and we literally had the best cats in the world but I do appreciate how great they are at snuggling on your lap. You can never have too many snuggles!
    4. Beyonce – singer I guess, although I always get her and J;Lo mixed up
    5. Anything chocolate, I loved Hagen daz Belgian chocolate clocolate but they stopped making it in cartons now – which my waistline very much appreciates!!

    Happy ICLW
    Chrissie!
    #23

  18. sarah

    You look beautiful!!

    1. Where the Heart is, I can watch that over and over!
    2. Education, I think a lot of insensitive comments come from people who don’t understand.
    3.Cats, they are so much more independent then dogs!!
    4. The singer
    5. Anything Chocolate, the more chocolate in there the better!!

  19. Good luck with ICLW! I haven’t participated in a long time. Maybe when I retire??

    1. What’s the best movie of all time? Casablanca, hands down. Here’s looking at you, kid. : )

    2. What do you think can be done to make people more sympathetic and caring about infertility? If anything? Most people don’t really “get” infertility until they’ve been through it themselves. Of course, that’s not something that I would wish on my worst enemy. After that, I think it’s when close family members &/or friends are affected that people might gain a glimmer of understanding — so it helps when we can be a little more open about our own struggles. Of course, that’s easier said than done… :p

    3. Cats or dogs? Why? Dogs. They’re friendlier. And I’m allergic to cat hair. Dog hair too, but cat hair more so.

    4. If you hear the name Beyonce, do you think of the pregnant singer/actress/dancer? Or the metal chicken? The singer, but I try not to think. Especially since she’s now preening over her baby bump. :p

    5. What’s your favorite ice cream flavor? Baskin-Robbins Gold Medal Ribbon, or something similar (vanilla, chocolate & caramel)

Leave a Reply

