My Letter to the Editor of The New York Times

I needed some good guidelines for writing my letter to the editor of The New York Times. I have never written a letter to the editor of any publication. So I decided to seek tips from, er, The New York Times. Here is their own take on what they look for.

In short, be succinct and engaging. Make your case in 150 words. Use facts.

I read a bunch of letters that have been published. Interestingly, unless I’m missing something, I didn’t see any letters published about THAT ARTICLE.

OK. So here’s my take:

To the Editor:

After reading the latest New York Times article about infertility (The Two-Minus-One Pregnancy, August 10, 2011), I am puzzled why your coverage seems to focus on the fringes and boundaries of this subject.

One in eight couples in the U.S. suffer from infertility. Infertility affects people of all reproduction ages and incomes.

If you read the published articles about infertility in The New York Times, you would think that only the very wealthy suffer from the disease. Patients you have profiled include: a 46 year old woman using donor eggs, a woman with multiple homes who pursues many treatments and finally settles on surrogacy, a woman has “twiblings” after using two different surrogates and donor eggs.

These are by no means the TYPICAL infertility patients who walk through the doors of hundreds of offices of reproductive endocrinologists each year. In reality, fewer than 3% of infertility patients need advanced reproductive technologies like in vitro fertilization (IVF).

I would invite you to look at the bigger picture. Speak with people struggling with infertility of ALL ages and income.

Jirraffe,
Main Street, USA

Obviously I had to trim the focus and detail in order to make the letter fit the 150 word parameter (and I can’t get it under 180 words).

What do YOU think? Please let me know in the comments.

8 Comments

Filed under Infertility, writing

8 responses to “My Letter to the Editor of The New York Times

  1. so hard to capture it all in so few words!

    I wonder if rather than focus on the profiles they’ve covered, maybe some quick examples of those they’ve left out (ie, the more “typical” patient)?

    I really hope they read and publish it, in any case!! bravo.

  2. I applaud you taking action. You’re using facts, which should make them look into this seriously (perhaps, add “sources” at the end of it?) You’re concise and your thought is easy to follow.

    I think the only suggestion I have is to focus more on what you want to see on their pages, as opposed to listing all their ‘faults’.

    Perhaps, make it a bit more personal? Give an example or two of what a normal IF couple is like?

  3. I agree with everyone else–focus on what you hope to see them cover in future IF articles. Good luck! I really hope your letter gets published. That would just be so cool (not to mention providing accurate information). 🙂

  4. Port of Indecision

    Bra-fricking-vo, though I agree with luna to give example of the typical IF patient instead of the fringes they’ve profiled.

  5. I’m so happy you’re actually doing this! And I agree that giving an example of typical IF folks would be a great addition. I’d be honored to be mentioned (that’s kind of a funny way to put that, since being mentioned means having gone through this hell…but you know what I mean! ha!). And feel free to use my real name if you want. But if it doesn’t work out, I think it’s great as it is, too. Yay! So glad you’re doing this! Thanks for being a voice for not just yourself, but for all of us.

  6. Pingback: Mad-Eye Moody’s Advice For the Next Time (And There Will Be A Next Time) | Too Many Fish to Fry

Leave a Reply

