Upon Jet Lag, Being Among the World and Finally, Bad News

My unexpected trip to Europe was like dropping an Amish person among the “English.” I didn’t realize how isolated and sheltered from the world I have been. I once directed campaigns and events for world players in business and politics. I had actually totally forgotten that part of myself. My friends in London and Europe are tasked with leading parts in managing the debt crisis. Their decisions matter tremendously. It was eerie to be among my peers who are in a sense making history.

To be on my own, making my own business decisions, was, I’m not going to lie, exhilarating. Peers respected me. London feels to me, much more than when I lived there like a major world hub. And I loved being there. Me: the suburban hausfrau. It’s the first time I didn’t feel that way.

I cam back exhausted from jet lag, but in another way refreshed. Until my parents called. My dad has been diagnosed with more cancer and has a big operation on Monday. It’s devastating. The procedure has a good rate of success, but it’s scary. My poor dad, who leads the healthiest lifestyle of anyone I know, has had so many
medical complications in his life. He’s such a wonderful father and grandfather.

So I’m headed out on Friday to be with him (he lives in the South) and it will be the second time the kids will be without me in less than a week.

Oh, life. Would that I could be more like bamboo and blow with these events as they happen as opposed to being the mighty oak: stiff, resistant to changes. Brittle. Broken.

10 Comments

Filed under Family

10 responses to “Upon Jet Lag, Being Among the World and Finally, Bad News

  1. chhandita

    I am praying for you and your family.

    So happy that you had this trip. Just wish you didnt have to come back to ‘this’ bad news.

  2. Also remember an oak is strong! I will be praying.

  3. eep6

    What a completely disorienting time – everything shifting all around you at once; identity and relationships, self and others. I’m so sorry to hear about your dad’s cancer.

    I know it’s hard to be gone from your kids so much, you miss them and worry about them too. They’ll be fine.

    Hang in there.

  4. So sorry about your dad’s cancer. (((Hugs)))

  5. I’m glad that you had such a good (eye-re-opening) trip… but I’m so sorry to hear the bad news… and will be sending positive thoughts and hugs your way.

  6. Mo

    So sorry about your dad. But I’m glad you’re back and had a good time! I missed you! 🙂
    xoxo

  7. I am so sorry for your dad. Mine had cancer a few years back – I am so grateful the surgery helped! I really hope everything goes great on Monday.

  8. I’m so sorry about your dad. Hopefully, the treatments are very successful. And great news about the trip. We all need to feel that way as often as possible.

  9. Sending healing energy toward you and your Dad. XO

  10. Catching up on a Google Reader backlog, & adding some (((hugs))) for you & your dad.

Leave a Reply

