Insert Lame Tuesday/Belgium Joke Here

Once, many years ago, I traveled alone abroad for work. That was back in the days when I had competence and self-confidence. And my stress levels were much, much lower. I didn’t have kids and I saw travel as an adventure.

I have to go to Belgium for a family obligation for a week. I know, I know. No one wants to read about someone HAVING to fly to Europe to eat chocolate and waffles. The family obligation is no fun and will be very stressful. But, I need to suck. It. Up.

I hate flying. I used to love it, but then there was the plane ride where the pilot kept getting on the intercom to tell us that they had to dump a bunch of luggage because we might NOT clear the mountains in our way. Flying scares me and I had a nightmare about my upcoming plane trip to London. Let me just say that if I see Kurt Russell boarding my plane, I will run a mile.

Mostly the thing that bothers me is I have only had three days to make this happen. I’m a planner, I like planning for every eventuality. I absolutely HATE the idea of being away from my kids for seven days. And not just in another town a few miles away. I’ll be 3,000 miles away. It makes me feel helpless. If I had had advance warning, I would have adapted to this in my mind, and best of all, gotten the twins ready mentally for the fact that Mommy is going away. They are super-attached to me and I have never left them for more than three days, and that was when they were much younger. I am worried that they are going to be traumatized by my leaving so suddenly.

I’m sure this trip will help me develop self-confidence, independence and moxie. I have no moxie any more. But right now I want to hide under a rock and ignore the whole thing.

Do you find that your sense of adventure is not the same since you have become older and more responsible? Or do you thirst for greater adventure in a life that may seem full of structure and routine?

8 Comments

Filed under Discovering joy, Fear

8 responses to “Insert Lame Tuesday/Belgium Joke Here

  1. Mo

    I absolutely HATE flying. It’s the worst. And i used to do it 4 times a year, with 12 hour round trips. Still hate it, hasn’t gotten better. The only solution I’ve found to deal is to take a tylenol PM just after takeoff and hope I don’t wake up until we land. I’ve kind of lost my moxie in the last couple of years. I think it sucks. As much as it will be horrible to be away from the kids, I suggest you try to make it at least a bit of an adventure. Maybe there’s a rock concert in the city that you can go to? Or a michelin star restaurant you’ve always wanted to try? Make sure, that with all of the planning, you plan something adventurous, memorable, and special, that you wouldn’t be able to do with the kids. It’s not much, but it’s a start! (you can always hop on a 4 hour flight to come visit me if you get bored!)

  2. Mo, I would LOVE to visit you, but this conference I’m going to for the family is inflexible. Any chance you want to hang out in Belgium? I’m dead serious. It would be awesome! I have free accommodations…

    I like the idea of the michelin star restaurant or concert. I love shopping in Europe because the fashions get to where I live about two years after they appear there. So I’ll probably do that.

    Darcy and I are talking about going to Israel next year in the summer 🙂

  3. I get this. The thought of leaving g for any prolonged period freaks me out and my relationship to travel is not what it used to be. I think Mo’s advice is stellar. If you can’t get out of it, you might as well try and make the best of it.

    Oh. While you’re there, keep an eye out for my moxie. I think I may have left it there during my last trip as a somewhat interesting human being. I believe I may have misplaced it in Brussels somewhere right after a visit with an old flame and his two gorgeous little girls. Can you guess what path that set me on?

  4. I had to go to Korea for a week when Eggbert was two and I was just miserable before the trip. It actually went surprisingly well, though. Eggbert did fine, and I was only truly wretched on the flight there, and then the night before I had to come home. I actually had a pretty good time most of the time that I was there. Since then, I’ve gone on two short work trips and both have also been fine. I have another one coming up in September, and am not particularly looking forward to it, but I suspect we’ll all manage.

    I can’t really answer your question, because I’m still VERY enthusiastic about traveling, but only if Mystery and Eggbert can come too. Otherwise, I’d rather stay at home.

  5. Oh no, I am definitely LOVING routine as I get older. I used to thrive on a little more unpredictability, but I realize now I was always a bit of a structure junkie. I just hid it better and pushed myself out of the box more when I was younger. Also, I had a lot of structure on my “adventures” that I didn’t even realize was there until I got older and wiser. I still like doing the occasional unexpected, but totally on my terms, and I will own it by golly. 😉

    And yes, they are long days. Thanks for the comment. I’m hoping that someday we’ll be able to be more family more often.

  6. The twins will be great … and so will you . How else do we grow, if not by the less-comfortable absences, and the times when the net is pulled from under us? Thinking good travel thoughts your way …

    And I so miss travel/adventure, and can’t wait until the kids are older so that I can take them, too!! 🙂

  7. Lut C.

    A week is so long, but I’m sure it will hard mostly on you and not your kids.
    Linnea wasn’t ruffled one bit when I last left (only 2 days though).

Leave a Reply

