“She Will Always Be Young. She Will Always Be Beautiful.”

Major bonus points if you can match the movie with the above quote.

When I was in college, I was very, very poor. I would ferry my friends to the bars, and sip my coca colas, content to accept fees for being the designated driver. Those fees paid for my meals for a week. I was so poor that I once sold flowers at restaurants. That’s a terrible job, BTW. Please be nice to those women when you see them.

Somehow, I ended up in a sorority of women who were my superiors in many ways. All of my friends were pretty and well-off. Luckily, they were all really kind as well. They accepted me, my 1982 Chrysler LeBaron and loaned me their pretty clothes for parties.

There was one girl in my sorority who shined brighter than all the rest. She reminded me of Grace Kelly: she was radiant, she had a boyfriend who was gorgeous and really into her (who later became her husband), she came from a devoted family who lived on a fabulous estate overlooking the Pacific Ocean. But what I mostly remember was how nice she was. When she said hello to lowly me, and laughed at my jokes, I felt elevated in spirit and in self-esteem. I imagine it was like speaking to Kate Middleton, if she was kind and witty. I was never good friends with her, mostly because I never felt worthy of being her friend, but I held her in high esteem. Whenever anyone speaks of enchanted golden girls, I always think of her.

She went on to marry her college sweetheart, she had three children and founded a successful business. Then, I heard that she passed away last year.

I don’t know too much about it, but she was diagnosed with melanoma and fought valiantly, but ultimately succumbed to the disease.

I have thought about her every day since I learned the news. I have been told by a mutual friend who knew her very well that she was always the one who put on sunscreen, wore hats and didn’t tan.

I don’t know that I have much of a point here, other than to ask, yet again, why is life so unfair? I don’t know how to explain awful things like this. The passing of a young, vibrant, beautiful mother who had everything. I thought of her today and I realized that I am now officially older than she’ll ever be.

All I can do to honor her memory is direct you to this song. It is unworldly, it is ethereal, it is golden. It reminds me of her.

Bless you, Grace. The world was a better place because you were here.

6 Comments

Filed under Sad

6 responses to ““She Will Always Be Young. She Will Always Be Beautiful.”

  1. Mo

    Wow, what a beautiful tribute. It’s losses like this that make me question the universe on a daily basis. But on the other hand, it makes me grateful for what I have.

  2. Pingback: “She Will Always Be Young. She Will Always Be Beautiful.” | Top Celebrity

  3. beautiful. Makes you realize what a gift we have …

  4. What a beautiful tribute to your friend. Sometimes life just makes no sense whatsoever.

  5. Life is so incredibly unpredictable. When things like this hit close to home, it can’t help but shake any sense of security we have right out of us. On the one hand, it’s important to remember that life is fragile and we are lucky to have every precious moment. On the other hand, we absolutely need to forget how fragile we are in order to actually live our lives. To be fully aware of the possibilities in every moment would mean never to want to leave our homes (actually, since I live in earthquake territory, that strategy wouldn’t work either).

  6. Lut C.

    That’s a very sobering and sad story.

Leave a Reply

