Does Music Inspire You to Write?

I LOVE Prompt(ly), Stirrup Queen’s new project. If you haven’t been, go check it out.

I have been thinking of ways to get the writer-ly juices flowing. I have one quarter of a book to finish, and I need to get moving. But I don’t blog daily either, one of my goals for this year. So, how should I inspire myself?

I find lately that music can be that inspiration. I like the “Atonement” soundtrack a lot. As I was listening to it the other day, my iLike application suggested “Buckbeat’s Flight,” from “Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban.” So I bought it, and I remembered that the scene the music was written for is one of my favorite scenes in the series so far.

Here’s the scene:

Isn’t this one of the most perfect distillations of pure joy ever put on screen? There are a few moments in my life when I have felt this way: walking up the aisle at my wedding after my beloved and I were wed, driving through the middle of a wildebeest migration and rappelling down the face of a mountain in the Alps. Those moments were far and few between: unless you are a mountain climber or an adrenaline junkie, you only have a small amount of them in your life. But, oh, how beautiful they are. And we should harbor them in our memory. Safeguard them for the times we have people telling us we are “less than”. For those times when life seems completely shitty. For those times when sorrow creeps in. Somewhere, at some time, you rode a hippogriff and yelled; “Woo-hoo!”

And that moment was worth 12,000 bad ones.

11 Comments

Filed under Discovering joy, writing

11 responses to “Does Music Inspire You to Write?

  1. chhandita

    Oh I love music..music is my Nirvana…it inspires me to live actually…..

  2. I know exactly the song you mean. I have the HP3 soundtrack and that is one of my favorites. There are some heartbreakingly beautiful tracks on that album. I used to always listen to music when I wrote. Now I never do.
    Maybe I should start that again.

    I’m trying to think of a time when I felt that happy. When Isa was born. Sometimes during my pregnancy. At my commitment ceremony with mi.Vida. Not many, but they were amazing.

  3. I find that there are two things that can bring me back to a certain place immediately: music and scents.

  4. Thanks for your comment on my post. Zevon’s album is blooming fantastic. Such a range of styles, and all delivered in his inimitable way.

  5. Hmm have never really thought about music for inspiration while writing but I need to try it now.

  6. Certain songs always help me write.

  7. Did you take down your latest post?I liked it.

  8. I used to be working on a book that used to have a built in soundtrack. I lived within a wall of constant music from that, but it was more a state of being for my imagination rather than a way for me to write; I sometimes wrote while listening.

    What I have known for many years is how much adrenaline listening to music produces and the research on that is now starting to come to light: http://musicschoolsbc.blogspot.com/2011/01/music-produces-natural-high-mcgill.html
    I feel great when I’m listening or dancing to something I love. There isn’t any need for any drug if you have music

    Now I don’t listen to music to help me write as much; I listen for the signs from the universe, sensory experiences and small events that cross my path in daily life as signals and inspirations for ideas. It’s a way of opening your subconscious to the daily experience…and it’s hard to describe. Depending on where you live, it’s hard to be open depending on how much negative is out there that you also need to protect yourself against.

  9. Oh, wow. I love that … thank you for sharing it!!

    Music doesn’t inspire me to write, usually … but it does set my mind free. 🙂 I don’t listen to it enough during the day … and I should, being home!!

  10. Hello! I know you don’t know me, but we’ve got something in common. I got your blog address off the Stirrup Queen’s blogroll and was wondering if you wouldn’t mind helping me help a couple who is trying to add a little one to their family. We’re holding a silent auction for them this weekend (Friday and Saturday) on goteamwitt.blogspot.com and need help getting the word out! We would love it if you would spread the word via social media or here on your blog. Additionally, we are always looking for more donations to auction off, so if you or someone you know might be interested in making a donation, all the information is under the donate tab. If you have any questions or would be willing to post a pre-written blog post about the auction and the sponsored couple, please contact Kristin at goteamwitt@gmail.com Thanks in advance for taking the time to consider this!

  11. I have to be careful about what music I listen to when I write. I find that I’m distracted by the words if I listen to the lyrics, but I like the emotions that vocals provoke. Often, I listen to Italian or Spanish lyrics so that I get the same feeling, but don’t get too caught up in the words.

Leave a Reply

