Guts! Glory! And, er…Game of Thrones

I am super excited about The Pomegranate Society and the Publishing Pot of Gold! Yes, I crafted that name so that it would sound like a Harry Potter book. What of it? There are some truly gifted writers (like Keiko from Hannah Wept, Sarah Laughed, Esperanza from Stumbling Gracefully) who are going to contribute. Yay! It’s not too late to sign up, either…there are some more gifted writers that I would like to see join up. (Ahem: Runny Yolk, A Half-Baked Life, Bloodsigns, Cooked Heads. And, you! But, no pressure!)

So, confession time. I have been writing a chick-lit mystery for five years. Yes, five years. It started out as a way to amuse my parents and then my brother. I come from an immediate family of professional writers and they have all been published, except for me. No pressure, right? I have a driving need now to get this sucker finished at the very least. Call it a bucket list item, or whatever. But I really need the pressure of a deadline, and my family suggested joining a critique group. But I didn’t like any of the ones I found and so many of my favorite writers are within this community.

I think it’s true that everyone has a book in them. I think so many of you are incredible writers. So, seriously think about joining.

I had grand plans of writing a chapter a night for my book, (I’m on chapter 20) and then I got sucked into the vortex that is “Game of Thrones”. Have you seen it yet? It is crazy addictive. I knew I might have a problem when Darcy told me he had watched five episodes in a row. He has never watched five episodes of ANY show in a row, except “The Wire”. (Epic but depressing as H-E-double hockey sticks.) So I knew I had to check it out from the beginning while he was away tonight. Cue me riveted to the sofa for three hours. And, scene.

Point? Don’t start watching “Game of Thrones” if you want to get anything done. And, think about joining The Pomegranate Society 🙂

7 Comments

Filed under Discovering joy

7 responses to “Guts! Glory! And, er…Game of Thrones

  1. Oh why not… where do I sign up?

  2. Hey yo! What? WHAT?! Someone’s in the Round Up today! And two of your posts are mentioned! CONGRATS! You deserve it.

    As you know I’m similarly addicted to Game of Thrones. I wish we could just hang out and watch it together all weekend long. I am going to be pining for it while I’m away.

    I’m also so excited to hear what you’ve been working on. I’ve been wondering! I can’t wait to read it! Very cool.

    Thank you for lighting a fire under all our writing asses so we can get started doing something. I gave myself until the end of the summer to really have something to show for my book. I’m totally ready to commit to this!

    (I mean my book, not Game of Thrones 😉

  3. The group sounds like a fantastic idea and I really like the name (the pomegranate society). Unfortunately, I am no writer (unless you consider material with lots of bar graphs and an overuse of the verb suggest as actual writing).

    Good luck with the book! Sometimes you just have to force yoursellf into something until you get going. Bringing others into it puts some healthy pressure on – it’s a great strategy.

  4. Wow … I feel honored to be mentioned in such awesome company. 🙂 Though I still don’t know what I’d write about, maybe I should … I’ve always reacted well to externally imposed deadlines … 😉

  5. Hi, yes I am in too! I’ve been working on a teen fantasy book for a while that desperately needs my attention again. Maybe this is the kick in the butt I need!

Leave a Reply

