Attention Writers: The Pomegranate Writers Group and the Publishing Pot of Gold

It’s not talked about much, but many of our best female writers are suspected to be fellow infertiles. From Isaak Dinesen to George Eliot, Dorothy Parker to Mary Shelley, who we know had a life-threatening miscarriage and lost her son at the age of three: these great writers were “our people”. They were able to create sustaining works of literature and channel pain into their art.

All you have to do is look through the roster of ALI bloggers to realize that we have some serious talent among us. Three bloggers tower over us all: Mel (the bestselling author!) and Keiko has some top secret project in the works. Calliope has begun work on a memoir about care taking for her grandmother.

These projects are documented. But I suspect there are many others of us who have a few chapters of a thriller or graphic novel, a book of poetry, a children’s book. A cookbook.

I need a greater push into the arena of publishing, and I think others would too.

What if we were to begin a virtual workshop where we critiqued and helped other writers refine their projects into what they are after. I’m happy to play facilitator and match up groups. I’d love it if by the end of the year we could get at least a few finished work with contracts signed.

The more books by the ALI community, the greater the message gets out. Plus, a nice boost of accomplishment for us all wouldn’t go amiss.

So what do you think? Are you interested in writing a book, from the Great American Novel to poetry to genre fiction? Would you welcome a support society? What questions do you have about how the project would work? Just to specify, you don’t need to write about infertility.

So, are you in?!?!? Or is this going to be one of the dreaded zero comment posts?

38 Comments

Filed under Discovering joy

38 responses to “Attention Writers: The Pomegranate Writers Group and the Publishing Pot of Gold

  1. I wish I had a project … what I need is direction. 🙂

  2. Kristin

    Found you through Calliope…whose writing I adore. As a fellow infertile-come-adoptive-mom, I have a book idea running around in my noggin. A children’s book about adoption. But it hasn’t fully formed yet, so I’m letting it steep.

  3. Mo

    I’m in the same boat as justine. I have a bunch of stuff in gestation, but nothing really coming to fruition (metaphor for other things? hmmmm).
    But I am mostly into screenplays. Though I’d be happy to be a sounding board for others while I get my own stuff worked out…

  4. I’m in! Though I worry I’ll be the only one writing a children’s book so no one will know what to do with me. But if you can pair me up with someone I’d love to be a part of your project. It sounds awesome!

  5. I’m in. I’d actually like to start working on a second memoir (ooooh, did I just hint at my first project??) about my conversion to Judaism.

  6. Lut C

    No writer hiding in me, sorry. But a good idea!

  7. Mel

    I think this idea rocks and I think you should also put it in the LFCA.

  8. Great idea. I recently joined a writing group in town that meets once a month. But haven’t really started on something serious yet..

  9. Lut C

    I see Esperanza is working on a children’s book.
    I’ve been looking for a good children’s book on IF, ART, …
    They’re very hard to find. I don’t know if she’s thinking about this subject for her book.

    Once upon a time I thought about writing down a fairy tale about the theme of IF for my daughter. I never did though. Perhaps I should, though remembering my story-writing skills always received rotten grades in school … too many cliches per square inch. Oh well, nothing ventured nothing gained.

  10. I’m in. I’ve been talking about editing Bakery Closed to see if it could become a book. Might as well have someone on my case to actually DO it.

  11. Just out of curiosity, have you send this to the LFCA?

  12. You can count me in too! I love the name as well! Great idea! 🙂

  13. P.S. I imagine that most of you already know about this great resource, but just in case, here is the link to the first post in Mel’s 11 Part “How to Get a Book Published Series:”

    http://www.stirrup-queens.com/2010/05/diy-mfa-before-we-even-get-started-part-one/

  14. I like it! I just don’t know how reliable I am with anything right now. I feel like I can barely keep the house going! 🙂

  15. I love this idea. I have been “writing” a book for about ten years. I’ve recently filed that original novel idea in the archives of my brain, and new ideas are floating around in there. Count me in.

  16. Pingback: What If My Entire Thesis About Joy Was Wrong? | Too Many Fish to Fry

  17. I automatically adore any post giving a shout-out to the inimitable Ms. Parker.

  18. I’m in. Mel gave me a not so subtle push in this direction.

  19. I’m totally in because not only do I have a finished memoir that I need to submit so it can actually go through the steps of self publishing (REALLY need that kick in the pants!) but I also have other IF books in the works in my noggin (and in virtual space)…I will mention the group on my blog but you can totally count me in! And I’m also into children’s books…have a half finished YA which I started when I was working on my MFA in Children’s Writing and then infertilty settled in and I haven’t written a thing for it since…a children’s book with an IF theme…now that is interesting! Speaking of which…I stumbled on a really cute adoption related picture book that I decided to giveaway! Stop by my blog next week for info on that!

  20. THis is great. Maybe I will finally get the boost of motivation after 5 years of writing to get my book done!

  21. Michelle

    Count me in please. I need a fire lit under my a@!.

  22. Pingback: The Pomegranate Society, Take Two | Too Many Fish to Fry

  23. I’d love to join an online writing group if this is still current. I’m preparing to send out a children’s book and I’m also working on a historical fiction. Let me know how to get into this. Thanks!

  24. Likewise, Have just discovered this group via another page (shocking memory!) and would love to join if you are accepting newbies! Currently working on a series of projects.

  25. Carolyn

    Hi, Is this group ongoing? I’m looking to join.

    Thanks for any info.

  26. Dana

    HELP, I need HELP!! I need a venue, a place a reason an audience…something!!

Leave a Reply

