What’s Happening, Now: Edition Two

A while ago, I wrote an unworthy tribute to the Herb Caen columns that I grew up with. I’ve decided to make it a series. The point of “What’s Happening, Now” is to update you all about achievements and happenings among our friends in the ALI community. I hope to provide some fun, quirky news about our group and to remind us all that we are MORE than our infertility and loss. I hope you enjoy!

A Half-Baked Life provided an intriguing recipe for a Lime Pie this week. Do Lime Pies need the Key in them to be Lime Pies? I’m thinking now, no. Justine would not steer us wrong…Keiko of Hannah Wept, Sarah Laughed dropped a bomb on Twitter: she will be writing a book! Sadly, no details yet.

I’m guessing it will be infertility-related, but maybe it will be a Vampire horror novel? Regardless, I look forward to downloading it onto my Kindle soon…In other book news, I am dying to read the sequel to Melissa Ford’s bestselling “Life From Scratch”. I went to the source about the ETA, and she responded thusly:

Have you ever read Dead Cow Girl’s blog? It’s a fascinating look at a Dominatrix going through IVF. Yes, you read that right…Yolk reviewed a horrendous sounding show about noxious New Yorkers who name their children “Fox”. Yes, you read that right. I think Yolk should be our go-to critic for all Hollywood products about ALI….Finally, to my dismay, Lori has put “Perfect Moments” on hiatus. Wah. I’m going to miss this helpful exercise in joyful living, but her reasons for needing a break make a lot of sense…

Readers, do you have any exciting projects, hobbies or stories to share? Or have you read about another blogger’s triumph? Please provide links below!!

10 Comments

Filed under Discovering joy, Infertility, Perfect Moment

10 responses to “What’s Happening, Now: Edition Two

  1. From wikipedia: “The Key lime (Citrus aurantifolia) is a citrus species with a globose fruit, 2.5–5 cm in diameter (1–2 in), that is yellow when ripe but usually picked green commercially. It is smaller, seedier, has a higher acidity, a stronger aroma, and a thinner rind than that of the Persian lime (Citrus x latifolia). It is valued for its unique flavor compared to other limes, with the key lime usually having a more tart and bitter flavor. The name comes from its association with the Florida Keys, where it is best known as the flavoring ingredient in Key lime pie.” 😉 Thanks for the shout-out!

    I want to read Keiko’s book, too. And yours. You’re going to write one, aren’t you ? 🙂

  2. It’s funny you should mention it, but I would LOVE to write a book. Of course ;0
    Thanks for the vote of confidence 🙂 And thanks for the clarification on the Key Limes. I want to try your lime pie. Darcy loves them.

  3. Very cool to have such a bookie group of ALI writers.

    I appreciate the shout-out, and I hope you are experiencing and noticing perfect moments. Would love to see your name on a spine 🙂

    • Thank you so much about the book 🙂 I would love to read one by you too! Is that in the works? It should be 😉

      I am working on the Perfect Moments…

  4. Esperanza

    I LOVE this idea! It’s so fun to see what everyone has been up to. I also love how you have such awesome tweet-ships with writers that you admire and respect. You always seem to ask the right questions or say the right things. Thanks for doing this again. I hope it’s a continuing series!

  5. Mel

    I was looking at the post before I read it and I’m like, “hey, that’s my tweet!” Thank you for posting this 🙂 And I, for one, would totally read vampire smut if Keiko wrote it. Vampire horror… she’d have to twist my arm. But vampire smut with lots of sex scenes? I’m all over that.

  6. I totally love this idea! Now I’m off to watch this week’s episode of pregnant in heels.

    • You are a born critic. I love all of the reviews you’ve done so far, but I think my favorite was when you reviewed that awful TV movie about the crazy woman who hoodwinks a couple into thinking she was pregnant. It made me howl with laughter.

Leave a Reply

