The “C” Word

…has unfortunately entered my life.

My mom is in town, and startled me with the news that my dad has cancer. He’s been in treatment for almost 5 months. I was wondering why he didn’t join my mom on this visit. (And I was selfishly feeling abandoned). Turns out he can’t be around kids for six months because of the germs.

They kept this news under their hat for more than six MONTHS! They should be spies.

The good news is the treatment appears to be working.

But I am just in total shock.

And I don’t really know what else to say.

13 Comments

Filed under Family

13 responses to “The “C” Word

  1. Oh no. I am so sorry! I’ll be thinking of your dad and your family. I’m sending healing thoughts his way right now.

  2. Yes, because there is nothing to say. Cancer also steals the speech for a little while. I have been there and I am sorry that this sucks so much, because it does. My mother-in-law passed away from cancer quickly after we learned she had it because it was so fast-growing. The day she passed away I learned my mother had cervical cancer and was going to undergo surgery the following week. Needless to say I could barely breathe but somehow you go on and make it and do what you need to do and learn to hate it and fight back. My mom made it and I am thankful! I walk for her and in memory of my mother-in-law every year at the Relay for Life in my town and now donate money every year for the cause! You can do it. ~Chelsea

  3. Oh Jjiraffe. I am so sorry. I don’t know what to say. I’ve never had a close family member with cancer but I know from others that it is very difficult. Please know that you are in my heart and in my thoughts and please let me know if there is anything I can do, I really mean that.

  4. Mo

    I’m so sorry for your news. My dad had a scare himself a couple of years back and they kept it from me and my brother (I actually only found out about it last week. I think it’s just a parental thing – them not wanting to burden you unless it’s absolutely necessary. But the fact that the treatment is working is fantastic news!
    Thinking of you.
    *hugs*

  5. I am so, so sorry. That is just so hard. I will keep you, your family, and your father in my thoughts. Be gentle with yourself. It sounds like you are in shock right now–give yourself the time you need to process.

  6. J,
    There are as many wide open thoughts of healing and peace of mind as I can send in your direction.

  7. Thinking of you and wishing like crazy that your father’s treatment continues its promising path…

  8. Crap.

    I’m glad that treatment is going well, and will keep him–and you–in my thoughts. If there’s anything I can do, let me know … I’ve been there.

  9. chhandita

    I hate this particular C word. Willing your father to beat the monster. ((hugs)) I do understand what you must be feeling.

  10. Sending good thoughts and prayers your way.

  11. Lut C

    Shock seems appropriate. I hope he makes a full recovery.

    I’m wondering why they wanted to keep it quiet.

  12. chhandita

    Hey J. Just checking in. Cannot find you on twitter. All good?

  13. I’m so sorry. Lots of prayers and support here.

Leave a Reply

