Help Resolve Get Senate Sponsors for Family-Building Bill

One of the big efforts of Resolve’s Advocacy Day was that an actual bill was introduced into Senate by Senator Gillibrand of NY. The bill needs our support to get co-sponsors.

Here’s the deal:

A bill to create a tax credit for the out-of-pocket costs associated with infertility medical treatment has been introduced in the U.S. Senate by Senator Kirsten Gillibrand (NY). Aptly named the Family Act of 2011, S 965, this bill will potentially help thousands of people seek medical treatment that otherwise would be out of reach for them.

Please go here and click on this link to contact your Senator and ask for support. It’s an easy form to fill out. You can add your own personal message.

Here’s what I chose to say:

I am part of the 1 in 8 people in America dealing with infertility. My husband and I are proud Americans who only wanted to be able to raise the next generation of involved, caring citizens. Instead, we were diagnosed with infertility and spent two and a half years and tens of thousands of dollars until we were lucky enough to have our miracle twins via IVF. We were fortunate enough to have the favorable insurance and family financial resources available to pursue treatments, but so many wonderful people I know who would be incredible parents of wonderful citizens can’t because of a lack of financial resources.

America is about equal opportunities for all, and I think building the next generation of citizens should be a priority for this country. Infertility affects so many and it is a disease, according to WHO.

The Family Act would help so many deserving people who would love to pursue their dreams of creating their own families, but can’t because of a lack of funds. I hope that you consider this Bill a priority. So many of your constituents are suffering from this silent disease. It would mean so much to us all for this support.

Very Sincerely Yours,

Jjiraffe

I hope you have the opportunity to sign this form. If you do, can you do me a favor and just write in the comments whether you did so I can keep track?

Thanks so much! Go us!

8 Comments

Filed under Infertility

8 responses to “Help Resolve Get Senate Sponsors for Family-Building Bill

  1. I did! Thanks for posting about this. 🙂

  2. chhandita

    I obviously cannot do anything about this unfortunately. But m best wishes are with all of you. Hope someday in the future, we will have something similar to Resolve here in m country.

  3. Mo

    Since I’m not currently living in the US, I don’t have a senator to contact. However, I did share a link to your post on FB. Hopefully that will get some people going. 🙂
    Beautifully written letter, BTW!

  4. Thanks for the reminder. I just sent my messages.

Leave a Reply

