The Royals And Bullying: Two Subjects Not Related?

Stupid WordPress/Blogger issues!! I asked some of my favorite bloggers to add the Name/URL function because for some reason, my WordPress identity is not accepted on Open ID even after weeks of troubleshooting with WordPress. (Blogger won’t give me the time of day.)

Unfortunately, this fix enables the anonymous function, which, as we all know, can attract unwelcome elements. I feel awful, because apparently that’s exactly what has happened to one of my favorite bloggers. And then, Mel wrote a particularly timely post today about the Internet’s nasty underbelly.

All I really have to add is: WHAT’S WRONG WITH PEOPLE?!?!?!

Now I’d like to talk about the Royal Wedding. When I lived in London, I once worked with the staff of a Brit royal (can’t say who) very, very briefly during a conference I helped publicize. I like this royal a lot.

I’m also pretty sure my former boss will be at the wedding. I feel somewhat connected to this wedding, I’m saying. Invested. I also really, really wish right now I still lived in London. I’m sure my friends who still live there are complaining about the tax dollars and acting totally blasé (which is the cool thing to do) but if I was still there, I’d probably be camping out for the best spot on the parade route. UPDATED *I actually Facebooked some of them and they are all using the national holiday to get out of town. “No one cares about the wedding,” I was told. Not too surprising. Most of the Londoners we knew thought the Royals “were for tourists.”*

This wasn’t always the case. I just watched “The King’s Speech” and it painted quite an admirable picture of King George. It was a strange thing to discover that one of the richest and most privileged men ever alive was a victim of systemic (and horrific) bullying: at one point, he admitted his nanny didn’t feed him enough for years, because she favored his older brother. I love stories about people of ordinary or sub-ordinary talents rising above them when they need to for the good of others. King George was a Neville Longbottom, a shy man with a speech impediment who had been tormented his whole life, but he was able to rouse his country when they needed it most, with his greatest weakness, his speaking ability.

So anonymous bullies and cowards, shut up. In the name of Neville Longbottom and King George, I command you.

Now let’s all enjoy the Royal Wedding. I can’t wait to see Princess Kate’s gown!

4 Comments

Filed under Discovering joy

4 responses to “The Royals And Bullying: Two Subjects Not Related?

  1. This is one of those weird subjects I’m going to have to think about. I started a post on bullying the other day after I said I didn’t care about words, but I found I had a hard time finishing it. Now this comes up. Maybe the universe is trying to tell me something?

  2. Hey Jjirffe, I just wanted to say that I’ve NEVER been able to use my wordpress ID to comment. I’ve always used gmail and I even opened a blog gmail account to comment under my blog name. Just a suggestion to get around the wordpress/blogger stuff.

    My London friends are also nonplussed about the wedding. Go figure!

  3. Thanks for this post–it made me laugh!

    And if you check the update on my blog, I’m not actually dealing with a true bully at the moment. It’s a trigger situation, which means a relatively small, insignificant, “normal” interaction triggered a flashback of childhood trauma. The trigger doesn’t have to be intentional or hurtful (and in this case, I’m pretty certain it was unintentional).

    But the anonymous comments annoyance is one of the many reasons I am seriously considering switching to wordpress. Don’t hold your breath though–I can sit on an idea for *months* before I actually *do* anything about it.

  4. Ah, the royal wedding was a sight and a celebration. I watched it from home though, but am amazed how many people had gathered in London camping out and all. A bit crazy but fun to see.

Leave a Reply

