Blogging Awards! And, NIAW Preview

We returned from our trip to Disneyland mostly intact.  One of my favorite parts was meeting up with CookedHeads. She’s like the wisest, coolest sister I never had.  She had so many helpful pieces of advice, but I think my favorite was (and I’m paraphrasing): Life is Princess Borghese bath salts and the South Coast Plaza, but it’s also cheerios on the ground and dirty houses.  In other words, life is a beautiful mess.  I just love that.  She lives life joyfully every day, and she inspires me to let go of the negative voices that sometimes surround me and live life imperfectly, beautifully.

While I was gone, another one of my blogging heroes, Keiko from Hannah Wept, Sarah Laughed awarded me a Stylish Blogger Award!  I think she has a rare gift with words, and she’s also a scrappy fighter for all of us IFers, so I am truly honored.  As part of the the “award ceremony”, I should share seven things about myself and pass on the award to fifteen other bloggers.  So prepare to be dazzled by some crazy Jjiraffe knowledge.

1. My dad was supposed to be with the press junket of reporters and government officials who went to Jonestown to investigate what was going on down there.  It was his tenth wedding anniversary, so he didn’t go.  Bad stuff happened.
2. In college I sold flowers in restaurants for one terrible night.  After going to three consecutive restaurants and being approached by the same creepy guy, I realized he was following me and I quit.  Please be nice to the ladies who approach you at your favorite cafes and ask you if you want to buy a flower. That’s a tough gig.
3. Also in college, I worked at a fancy Mexican restaurant.  They recycled the salsa.  Meaning, when your plate of partially finished salsa was taken away from your table, it was emptied into the big pot of salsa in the kitchen and served again to others.  And yes, I still eat chips and salsa in restaurants.
4. My favorite Winnie the Pooh character is Eeyore.
5. I love eating breakfast for dinner.
6. On my honeymoon, we went to Tanzania for a safari.  A leopard ate a gazelle outside our tent.
7. I once was the designated driver for a movie star’s wild night out, before he was a star.  It involved The Roxbury, the star acted like a total dorkus, and I was very unimpressed.  Now, he’s one of our very best actors.  Go figure.

In no particular order, here’s my Order of the Stylish Bloggers:

Bodega Bliss
Stumbling Gracefully
Second Hand Happiness
CookedHeads
Invisible Mother
As Good As It Gets
Somewhat Lower
Mommy Odyssey
Colours of Cattitz
Adventures of a Dam Engineer
Things Get If’fy
Chasing Rainbows
Write Mind, Open Heart
Fertility Challenged in Florida
Bloodsigns

Finally, I am trying to prepare something special for NIAW, and it’s going to be a big push.  I’ll give you the hint: I will be exercising skills I formerly used in my pre-children career.

8 Comments

Filed under Awards, Discovering joy, Family, Parenting After IF

8 responses to “Blogging Awards! And, NIAW Preview

  1. chhandita

    I awarded you the same award lol..just got a little late. 🙂

  2. You’ve had such a fascinating life! I’m dying to know who that celebrity is. And more about your time in Tanzania.

    Ewwww on the salsa.

    I LOVE so many of the bloggers on your list. I’m honored to be counted among them. Thank you SO much!

  3. I love Eeyore, too! (But my favorite character is Piglet.)

    Thanks for the blog award, I’m really honored. 🙂

  4. Aw thanks, lady! I feel honored. Also? Right back at you!

  5. “a beautiful mess” . Absolutely perfectly described. I could not have said it better myself and can’t think of a single person who could.
    And as to the gazelle for breakfast, whilst honeymooning, to quote my sister, who has a very amusing sense of humor, “Well, wasn’t that romantical?” yikes yikes… twice for emphasis.

  6. Thanks! That’s really sweet! Eeyore and Stitch are my favorites. 🙂 By the way, I’m amazed that anyone could criticize how you look or that you feel badly about your appearance because from your photos, you look amazing! I’ve been feeling down about mybody lately. Can’t get that tummy flab under control, and there is ever so much more fat on the thighs and bum.

  7. Oh.. the salsa and Dad stories? Freaky!

  8. Thanks a lot for the mention!

    I have worked in restaurants too and have some stories like yours, amazing how it’s done at some places.

Leave a Reply

