Unoriginal Thoughts on Disney, Part One

So, Disneyland. The last time I was here I drove from my college on a free day, on a whim. I was twenty. Things have changed…

It really is a magical place. The level of detail is astounding. We took a train ride around the place to chill out from the rides, and one of the tunnels re-enacts the land of the dinosaurs! You can’t escape the magic.

The cast members were straight out of diva-land. I loved them. They had their own shuttle, hang-out areas and were in their element. Overheard phone conversation: “Did he not like the bird? I can lose the bird.”

It does seem to be the land of the fertile. One woman at the Best Western asked me, “Do you want four kids?” Her kids were misbehaving, you see. Can we ban that joke, like, forever?

I read “Cinderella Ate My Daughter” and agreed with so many of Peggy Orenstein’s points. I don’t encourage the princess phase, in fact, my daughter has never heard of Cinderella. (She kept asking me who she was, she’s quite prominent in the land of Walt.) I do like “Alice in Wonderland” and she wore her Alice costume to the park. She’s never been so noticed and many adults and children approached and told her she was beautiful, which made me both anxious and proud.

There is something so wholesome about Disneyland. You see these guys with shaved heads, fully tattooed, gently lifting their sons into the Dumbo flying ride, and I witnessed a hard-faced, downtrodden- looking teen smile with pure joy as she got into the Indiana Jones jeep. The park appeals to our better angels. I love that.

Are you a fan of the Disney resorts? What do you like and dislike about them?

3 Comments

Filed under Discovering joy, Family

3 responses to “Unoriginal Thoughts on Disney, Part One

  1. I’ve only been to Disneyland once, when I was about 9 or 10 years old. I LOVED it! It is the *only* theme park I remember every really enjoying. That said, it was quite overwhelming, and I needed a day off in the midst of our carefully planned, 3-day visit. (My parents planed exactly 3 days, but I thought there were 4 possible days for park visiting, so when I asked for the day off, I didn’t realize I was losing out on a day at the park. It took about 15 years to clear up this particular misunderstanding!)

    If I am ever lucky enough to have kids of my own, I will definitely be taking them to Disneyland (and I’m not a huge Disney fan, in general). But my memories of the magic are so strong. What you just described sounds like exactly what I remember. 🙂

  2. I found Disney a little TOO planned … but then again, that’s what appeals to kids …. and we’ll probably find ourselves there someday, too. It *is* magical. 🙂 I also remember waiting in line for hours to go on rides … maybe that’s not a problem any more? Glad you’re enjoying yourself!

  3. Fan though it has its place. 🙂

Leave a Reply

