SATC2: I Watch it So You Don’t Have To

Sarah Jessica Parker on the set of "Sex and the City II"

Photo credit: By ChrisGampat [CC-BY-2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons

“Sex and the City”: I don’t really need to go into my complicated relationship with it, do I?   OK, fine.  To sum up, I think that show (and especially the first movie) may have done more to lead to the economic collapse than sub-prime mortgages did.   In the world of selfish, annoying Carrie Bradshaw, feminism = consumerism.

I had heard that the sequel was as filled with poop as PETA.  But, after a morning of fresh hell yesterday, I needed some sort of escapism during the kids’ nap.  And it was free, so I started to watch it.

Here are my thoughts:

1. If the first movie was a factor in the economy collapsing, is this movie responsible for the turmoil in the Middle East?
2. None of the actors’ faces MOVE.  At all.  I couldn’t tell if they were smiling or crying, unless I saw actual tears.
3. Liza Minelli sings “All the Single Ladies.”  I am not joking.
4. The four ladies sing “I am Woman.”  I am not joking.
5. Carrie dares to compare herself to Coco Chanel.  Um, never mention yourself in the same sentence with her again.  Ever.

Mostly it was a self-indulgent affair by the director-writer-producer Michael Patrick King.  I’ve seen him interviewed, and whenever he speaks about his contributions to SATC, it’s like he’s some god, graciously taking credit for the creation of a masterpiece of world culture.  Modesty is not in the guy’s repertoire.  It seems the studio gave him FULL creative control, and he wrote the script imagining that at the end of each piece of dialogue, there would be wild applause.  So characters say things like, “Lawrence of my labia!” and then there’s a long, awkward pause where the character looks out of the screen into the audience, waiting for your crazed laughter.  Which won’t come, unless maybe you’re someone who thought “Mamma’s Family” was cutting-edge comedy.

HOWEVER, I did enjoy one exchange between Charlotte and Miranda.  Charlotte is having a difficult time with her daughters, as one is experiencing the terrible twos and won’t stop crying.  But Charlotte, the infertility vet, won’t admit to anyone that she is having any problems. Because she wanted her children SO MUCH.  So she feels guilty admitting any ambivalent feelings about being a mother.  It’s the first time I’ve seen this experience portrayed in the media, and I appreciated it because it’s been true for me.

Of course, she has a full-time nanny, so, you know.  Mo’ money, less problems.

4 Comments

Filed under Parenting After IF

4 responses to “SATC2: I Watch it So You Don’t Have To

  1. Ugh, I HATED that movie. Like I actually felt unclean after watching it.

    And yah, while I appreciate the sentiment, Charlotte bitching about her children with a full-time nanny in tow was a little hard to swallow in my humble opinion.

  2. I went to a free screening of the first SATC film and was so horrified I stayed away from the second like the plague.
    Thank you for reinforcing the rightness of my decision. 🙂

  3. I never watched the series, decided to see the first one with my wife-in-law and vowed never again. I feel so superior to the rest of you! I’m laughing and kidding, laughing almost as much as I did with this post. You’re hilarious, girl.

  4. It was so horrible. Awful awful awful. But yes, that exchange between Miranda and Charlotte made me cry. Except, I easily cry, so that is no indication of it’s quality or not.

    Sorry you had such a bad day the other morning. 😦

Leave a Reply

