Cooking with Capote: #Fail!

I don’t know what I was thinking.

I was whinging to Darcy that I got zero comments on my first installment of the “Cooking With Capote” feature.

Darcy: “Why the hell did you pick Truman Capote?  Is he a famous food writer?”

Me: “No.  I just liked his memoir of making fruitcake with his aunt.”

Darcy: “What about Peter Mayle?  Frances Mayes?  M. F. K. Fisher?”

Me: “Um…”

Darcy: “Don’t you think you’re asking a lot from your readers?  They have to write up a long story about what they’re cooking now, too?  And you put a bunch of pressure on them to make it ‘well-written.’  Who has time for that?!?”

Me: “Um…”

Darcy: “It’s not like you’re some influential blogger.  What do you have, 30 twitter followers?”

Me: “Actually, one of my spambots un-followed me, so, 29.”

Darcy: “Maybe you should take away the community aspect and just do your own cooking posts.”

Me: sadface

What do you think, dear readers?  Is Darcy right?  Should I just do my own cooking posts?  Am I asking too much?  What if you could post old, already written cooking posts to the feature?

I also spoke to my brother, the MFA, and he directed me to a fellow student’s hugely popular blog, Anecdotes and Apples, which contains some of the most heartbreaking food writing I’ve ever come across.  Man.  Bring your kleenex.

But reading it conversely convinced me of the value of us all sharing our food lore.  Food makes us feel BETTER, cooking provides us with a way to show our love, acceptance of our lot in life for now, and hope for better things in the future.  Bodega, while in the middle of having to face the baby party from hell, chose to make a whoopie pie cake for the birthday girls, to show that she was “OK”, and to show her friends how much they meant to her.  That story touched me so much.

So what if I call it “Bitter Infertile Foodie Club” or some other such title that we survivors of infertility and life can agree to.  Because there’s nothing better than making delicious food for a tough day.  And I have a feeling that I would enjoy your recipes A LOT.  Or even just your descriptions of how certain foods make you feel. And how family lore and traditions are passed along.

Can we brainstorm this out? Would love to get your feedback for how this might work (or, not).

Thanks in advance. Love you all!!

9 Comments

Filed under Capote Cooking, cooking?!?, Discovering joy, The Reluctant Cook

9 responses to “Cooking with Capote: #Fail!

  1. Um, didn’t I comment and say I’d do it?! I thought I did. I’m cooking my first thing tomorrow night. Not sure which blog I’m going to post it on, maybe the new one. I’ll let you know when it’s up. I’m looking forward to learning how to make some of my favorite meals that my parent made. We’ll see what I can manage.

  2. I didn’t post because I didn’t cook on Sunday, and my parents didn’t cook things I yearn to duplicate, but I was going to post SOMEthing today anyway! 🙂

  3. I was very reluctant to contribute to “Cooking with Capote” because, quite honestly, my relationship with food is extremely complicated right now. I’m in the process of breaking-up with my mother’s style of cooking (which I love taste-wise, but is relatively high-GI and therefore contributes to my PCOS/insulin resistance problems) and attempting to fall in love with a new style of cooking that involves eating foods I didn’t develop a taste for as a child. On top of that, I’m on metformin, which kills my appetite and gives me nausea instead. Now a “Bitter Infertile’s Foodie Club” sounds like a place where I could complain about how much my RPL treatment has messed with my relationship with food. But it won’t be lovely, nostalgic posts. It will be bitter, whiny posts. Is that okay?

    • See, this is really interesting to me and I think this viewpoint needs to be heard. I think it would be really informative to get your take on your changing relationship with food.

      Also, I’m sorry that medication is playing havoc with your stomach 😦

  4. I did it! Look here! http://bodegabliss.wordpress.com/2011/04/05/making-whoopie/

    Sorry I was so late in posting! I’m in!

Leave a Reply

