Day 43: Climb Every Mountain

Like many impressionable young American girls, I grew up watching The Sound of Music. My favorite song from the film was “Climb Every Mountain”. It was sung by the Mother Superior and the song’s lesson was to  face your fears, climb above your struggles, and when you do, you will be free. The song still gives me the chills 20 years later.

The song famously plays at the very end, when the Von Trapps are literally climbing for their very lives, in hopes of escaping the Nazis.

Today, there was snow upon our closet mountain. Snow only falls every 10 years or so, so we decided that we would climb the path to reach the snow. I envisioned us carrying children on shoulders to make it to the frozen ice. Instead, neither child wanted to walk in the snow, or wear their sweaters or coats, although it was 35 degrees out. So constant battles ensued until we finally had to turn around without seeing the full winterland of snow.

It was disappointing, and yet I’m proud we attempted it. As a family.

 

6 Comments

Filed under Family, Fear

6 responses to “Day 43: Climb Every Mountain

  1. I love that song, too. Thanks for posting it. I needed a reminder to persevere today.

  2. I love this song!!! I cry every time I hear it.

  3. I saw a close-up from above of that mountain yesterday as I was flying home. It was so beautiful! I’ll walk with you to the snow!

  4. Pingback: Time Warp Tuesday: “Climb Every Mountain” | Too Many Fish to Fry

  5. I’m a fan of all the OTHER songs in SoM, but not so much this quivery-alto one.
    Here’s to TRYING to climb even one mountain with kids 🙂

  6. I am here form the future via Time Warp Tuesday and appreciate your take on this song. I love that movie and did watch it countless times as a kid. My son may even be getting to the age where he will appreciate it soon. I haven’t thought about the lyrics to this song in awhile, if ever and certainly appreciate it more as an adult. That’s awesome that you tried to climb a mountain with your kids and even though it didn’t go quite as you had hoped (such is life), I admire you for trying and know that our kids enjoy and remember these adventures that we take them on. xoxo

Leave a Reply

