Day 40: The Stoics Can Stuff It

Right now, I’m not feeling the stoics. I’m wondering if there’s maybe something in the male DNA that responds more to a philosophy which espouses this:

“Our lack of confidence doesn’t come from difficulty; the difficulty comes from our lack of confidence.”

Seneca

Um, REALLY? This sounds a lot like a crappy book which got a lot of play a few years ago. I am NOT going to give it any credit other than to say that it was spotlighted on a popular TV show, and I believe that it has caused immeasurable damage. I don’t think that unhappiness befalls people because they are not confident and don’t want happiness enough.

Instead, I believe that honesty might be the key to releasing unhappiness. What’s up with the bravest writers being Australian? First Lori at RRSAHM, and now The Miss Ruby. She’s one of my favorite bloggers, because she reveals tremendous honesty and truth in each post. She is unblinking and tough and strong, because she is so vulnerable. That sounds like a paradox, but I think that those who reveal their greatest fears about themselves are the people who understand life the most. They know their souls, they are self-aware, and they humble me.

The Miss Ruby could use a little love right now, so please feel free to go over and give her some virtual hugs.

So, in sum, shove it, stoics.

Xoxo

Jjiraffe

I AM feeling this song right now, BTW. LOVE!!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Day 40: The Stoics Can Stuff It

  1. isn’t stoic synonymous with “pretend it’s not happening”? That’s repeatedly proven not to work for me, but maybe it’s a personal flaw because I don’t believe in Santa Claus, the tooth fairy or tax reform either.

  2. That quote makes me so angry! I am going to take it personally because I am proof it’s not true. Throughout my last pregnancy, despite miscarrying 4 months before, I was extremely confident and positive, and yet I still miscarried. A difficulty came despite my confidence. So what would they say to that? I second your statement: Stoics, go stuff it!

  3. I remember that hype. Awful.
    You have to stay hopeful, someone told me, in order for ART to work. I wanted to slap her. Of course, her repeated good fortune with ART was all due to her good spirits, not to dumb luck. Thanks for implying it’s all my own fault.

    I’ve decided years ago that philosophy was invented by men with too few household chores.

  4. Pingback: What If My Entire Thesis About Joy Was Wrong? | Too Many Fish to Fry

Leave a Reply

