Day 39: Valentine’s Day and The Big Romantic Gesture

Runny Yolk and some other folk have suggested that bloggers post a photo of their wedding for Valentine’s Day.

So, without further ado, TA DA!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In honor of Valentine’s Day, I would like to talk about Darcy a bit. I call him Darcy because my parents believe he resembles Mr. Darcy. Some people grow up reading the Bible, superhero comic books, Nancy Drew novels, Gibbons or even Roth. Growing up in my house, the Word According to Jane Austen was the Truth. Even though her narrow world seems not applicable to today’s freewheeling society of social networking, tweeting, texting and globalization, her stories are still pretty universal. This subject matter has been covered by much better writers than me. But to give you a sense of how important She is to my parents: each Christmas, they watch the entire BBC version of “Pride and Prejudice”. All six hours. Do not bring up the Keira Knightley version. They will cut you.

Darcy is wonderfully rude and direct, but I’ll cover that at some later point. He is also a master of the Romantic Gesture.

So, I guess I’ll start at the very top of the list of his Gestures. To prove my point.

We were in Paris. (Already, I can see you gagging.) Darcy begged me to go for a midnight walk. It was cold, and I was recovering from a bout of food poisoning, so I didn’t want to be anywhere not near a toilet. Isn’t it romantic! But, I finally agreed. We walked to the Pont Neuf. There was a group of hooligans in the small park. I wanted to go, Darcy wanted to wait. We did, and within 30 seconds the hooligans dispersed, as if by magic.

We walked to the very edge of Pont Neuf, within a stone’s throw of the Seine, and the world sped up. I could see the Eiffel Tower and  it was shimmering. Suddenly, Darcy pulled out a copy of “Sense and Sensibility”. Which is my favorite Austen book. And I had never told Darcy this. I was sure he assumed my favorite was “Pride and Prejudice”. Suddenly, he kneeled down and opened the book. He had cut into the pages and placed an engagement ring in the depths.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I love you, Darcy. And not just because of the Grand Gestures, but because you let me sleep in on Saturday mornings.

 

 

12 Comments

Filed under Discovering joy, Family

12 responses to “Day 39: Valentine’s Day and The Big Romantic Gesture

  1. How lovely! 🙂 I’ve still only read Pride and Prejudice but Jane Austen has always been a huge inspiration to me, and I hope to read more of her this year during my 50 Book Challenge. That is so cool that your whole family loves her… she really was a wonderful writer and many of her social interpretations are still true today.

  2. Esperanza

    What a beautiful post. And a beautiful wedding picture! It’s always so fun to see what people look like. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Aw, I love the ring story! So neat!

  4. You too married well!
    I laughed at the “they’ll cut you” remark. My sister is the same way and I hate to admit this, but until last year, as much as I read, I’d never cracked the spine of a Austen book. Now I wonder what, other than a perverse “You’re not the boss of me” attitude, took me so long.

  5. A great post. And a beautiful wedding photo. We have a good looking group of bloggers. 🙂

  6. I love your engagement story and that you found your own, real live Darcy. 🙂 I am a huge Austin fan, but I’m not sure which book is my favorite. Lately I’ve been on a Mansfield Park kick. 🙂

  7. Gah, you guys couldn’t be more beautiful! And he totally raises the bar for men out there. You’ve got yourself a good one. Not that I had to tell you that! 🙂

  8. Pingback: Valentine’s Day, Ugh | Too Many Fish to Fry

  9. Jem

    What a guy and what a perfect way to propose! Can’t get more romantic than that! Your story takes the cake!

  10. How adorable is that?! What a sweet and thoughtful way to propose!!! And…. letting you sleep in on Saturday is probably even more thoughtful 🙂

  11. Pingback: “Bringing Up Bebe: Book Review, Part One” | Too Many Fish to Fry

Leave a Reply

