Day 29: Trying to Love (or Like?) Cooking; Making Rosti

I don’t love to cook. There, I said it. I think there’s a few reasons why this is:

  • I find even cooking scrambled eggs requires quite a bit of concentration.
  • Rowdy toddler twins don’t always allow me to concentrate. (I can hear you now: “Yeah, yeah, yeah.” Like Cuba Gooding Jr.’s teammate when he’s complaining in the locker room in Jerry Maguire.)
  • I am on my own most of the time. (Darcy works crazy hours.)
  • None of these excuses are valid, really.
  • I just don’t have the energy most of the time. Or, I’m lazy?

But, the last few times I’ve tried, it’s been enjoyable during the actual process and the food has been tasty. I guess psyching myself up for the actual cooking is the hardest part, and having Darcy around to run interference with the kids is invaluable.

I’ve been wanting to make this recipe for about a week. Finally last night, I made it.

I cut the recipe by 1/3 because I didn’t have enough hash browns, and I only had a 8×8 pan. This was probably a mistake. I think the potato mixture was too deep and the eggs took forever to “fry”. However, overcooked eggs and all it was DELICIOUS! The combination of eggs, potatoes and cheese is a wholesome tasting, throughly satisfying comfort food.

Grating the onion and the cheese took the longest time (because I grate slowly), about 10 minutes. Then I combined the thawed hash browns, butter, yougurt, salt, pepper with the onions and cheese:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I added the chives, then put the mixture in the baking pan. I cooked the mixture for 45 minutes.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I made impressions in the mixture to cook the eggs, but the whites and yolk did not get firm until 20 minutes. Again, I think that’s because the mixture was piled too high. Here’s what the end product looked like (one of the yolks broke up):

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Thanks so much to Mommy Porch for the recipe.

4 Comments

Filed under cooking?!?, Discovering joy, Mommy Porch, The Reluctant Cook

4 responses to “Day 29: Trying to Love (or Like?) Cooking; Making Rosti

  1. Esperanza

    That looks super yummy! Thanks for sharing. And if you ever figure out how to love cooking, let me know…

  2. Yum, that looks very decadent! I love cooking though… I find it soothing.

  3. I’ve been catching up on blogs … and love your new “living joyfully” approach. It’s a good reminder … and you’ve got me wanting to read philosophy again! ūüôā

  4. Pingback: ABCs of Me Meme | Too Many Fish to Fry

Leave a Reply

