Day 17: Discovering New Music

Left to my own devices, I would stick to my old favorite musical acts (mostly Radiohead, Royksopp, Stereolab, and early Coldplay). We do not have one decent radio station in this town, so I’m not exposed to much new music. I don’t have Sirius or XM or whatever it’s called now. Also, I am old. “There is nothing more pathetic than an aging hipster,” as my Dad likes to say. I don’t want to be one of those.

My brother is young, so it’s acceptable for him to follow new music. He’s introduced me to Grizzly Bear, The Fleet Foxes, Neko Case (I know, she’s been around awhile) and LCD Soundsystem among others. Last week he told me about Deerhunter, and I am loving them right now.

Does growing older mean letting go of the new? So many of our friends stick with what they know, musically speaking. Our iPod playlist (featuring a lot of the bands my brother follows) puzzled our guests at our most recent dinner party. They asked us if we had any “classic rock”, instead. Like Rush. Jeez, are we THAT old!?!

Music is like an anti-depressant sometimes. If I’m in a down mood, a good tune can take me out of the doldrums. But I can only listen to “The Flower From Nowhere” so many times. I’m about to lose any cred I had and admit that nothing cheers me up more than “Imma Be”. (Yes, by The Black Eyed Peas. You can stop laughing now.) Which is “new music”. Or was, two years ago.

If anyone’s reading: Is new music for the young, or can we all enjoy it without worrying about “aging hipster” comments?

2 Comments

Filed under Discovering joy, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Day 17: Discovering New Music

  1. I don’t recognize most of the bands you named! I wonder how out of touch that makes me? Personally I don’t think new music is just for the young, but as you said, people are comfortable with what they know. I’m exposed to new music (mainstream) all the time because I teach Jazz.ercise. It’s kind of fun for mindless pop/dance music. As for seeking out music that’s more my taste, I’m lazy and trend towards the old stuff with a smattering of new here and there.

    I think you’re only in danger of becoming a pathetic aging hipster if you use the phrase “Yeah, I like what the kids are listening to these days”. Avoid the temptation to sound like a fuddy-duddy! 🙂

  2. Ha! I guess exposure to the new is the key (you through your classes, me through my brother). In college, there was lots of time to follow music and hear it through social stuff. Now there’s just as not as many opportunities (and free time)…

Leave a Reply

