Perfect Moment: Discovering How Wonderful My SIL Is

Perfect Moment Monday “is about noticing a perfect moment rather than creating one. Perfect moments can be momentous or ordinary or somewhere in between.”

My brother and his wife came for a visit as I mentioned last week. They don’t live nearby, and we only see them once a year, usually at a large family gathering, so I had not really spent any one-on-one time with her ever.

My brother and husband wanted to watch the football game on Monday night together, and my husband and I had decided that it would be OK to go to a restaurant during this special week. (We’re trying really hard not to eat out to save money 😦 ) So SIL and I left to go to a restaurant together, a real local institution. I was so excited to be able to hang out with her and get to know her better. (And eat a meal in a restaurant!)

I guess I was too excited, because as soon as we arrived at the restaurant’s parking lot I slammed my pinky in the car door. It hurt, badly, and I knew I would have to go to the ER. I also knew I wouldn’t be able to drive with one hand. SIL rose to the challenge valiantly and drove me to the ER (in a strange city and car), then waited with me for four hours while I was diagnosed, drugged, cut, irrigated and given two painful injections of antibiotics. She was so cool about the whole thing, and her calm presence was very reassuring.

She was also wonderful with the kids, and generally very helpful. (She cleaned the kitchen for us!) She and my brother are so cute together, they are really in love. My brother is a lucky man and realizing that the day they left was my perfect moment.

2 Comments

Filed under Perfect Moment

2 responses to “Perfect Moment: Discovering How Wonderful My SIL Is

  1. Ugh — I’m so sorry about your pinky! But I’m really glad your SIL was there to step up so well. Sounds like your brother has a knack for attracting awesome women into his life.

    Heal up soon!

Leave a Reply

