Perfect Moment: Making More With Less

Perfect Moment Monday “is about noticing a perfect moment rather than creating one. Perfect moments can be momentous or ordinary or somewhere in between.”

Entertaining stresses me out. Our home, while structurally sound and family friendly, has not been updated since the 50s. When I contemplate people coming over, I imagine they are laughing on the inside as they look around at the heinous brown kitchen tiles, lack of a formal dining room, and the stained Berber carpet.

Nevertheless, we had commitments to have people over this last weekend, and so I decided to take a page out of “Status Anxiety” and just celebrate what we have. So I took out our wedding china, our best champagne flutes, a colorful tablecloth and set up a pretty OK table. Cheap but cheerful flowers were centered on the tablecloth.

The ceilings in our living area are too low for the formal chandelier we inherited from my husband’s grandmother but I wanted some sort of special lighting. So I decided to string up the outdoor lanterns we bought at Cost Plus using kite string.

I think the effect was quite festive, and when I completed setting the table I had a real sense of joy. It all cost me about $10.

4 Comments

Filed under Discovering joy, Perfect Moment

4 responses to “Perfect Moment: Making More With Less

  1. You are my new hero! Inexpensive and GORGEOUS party atmosphere, and most of all, EASY.

    I’m glad that your resourcefulness made for a perfect moment 🙂

  2. I think it looks wonderful! And the outdoor lanterns make a nice touch….really gives it a party feel!

  3. DropEdge

    I love this! And I suspect that, more than anything, it reflects not the age of your house but the festiveness of the occasion and the brightness of your personality. 🙂

  4. Fabo! I just may have to try this, but for my daughter’s bedroom! I think it would be fun in any room! You are so creative!

Leave a Reply

