“We are living in the midst of a tough time in history”

My husband attended a not so festive soiree yesterday. About half of the people he spoke with at the party were unemployed. When he came home he said: “We are living in the midst of a tough time in history.”

Hearing him say those words out loud froze the marrow in my bones.

It’s common for the media to pontificate that Americans of my age (I won’t bother to bore you by identifying my generation by a letter) have not experienced an economic situation like this before. What I have realized lately is that this climate is incredibly uncertain, a roller coaster ride of hope and despair. Not unlike a journey through infertility.

Certainly there have been worse times in history. Has the future ever looked more scary, though? Predictions of cataclysmic climate change, ongoing threats of terrorism, nuclear proliferation in addition to the rickety economy make for imagings beyond the most paranoid Radiohead lyric.

So what’s an anxious mother to do, how does one “keep calm and carry on”? Today I remembered some advice that might help steady me. Melissa over at Stirrup Queens gave a speech a while back giving a single piece of advice about how to survive infertility. I think it’s sage wisdom for life, too. “Just wing it”, she said. In other words, your infertility exists, and you have to work your way through it, get to the other side somehow, dig into yourself and pull out the tools you never knew you possessed in order to make it.

And so, I dig deep within my resources for my socket wrench so I can secure the bolts of our metaphorical ship, and l lower the sails, and take our provisions down below and huddle close to my family. Because the storm isn’t clearing anytime soon. And I fear it has really only just begun.

2 Comments

Filed under Fear, Infertility

2 responses to ““We are living in the midst of a tough time in history”

  1. “In other words, your infertility exists, and you have to work your way through it, get to the other side somehow, dig into yourself and pull out the tools you never knew you possessed in order to make it. And so, I dig deep within my resources for my socket wrench so I can secure the bolts of our metaphorical ship, and l lower the sails, and take our provisions down below and huddle close to my family. Because the storm isn’t clearing anytime soon. And I fear it has really only just begun.”

    I just love the way you put this. It’s so bizarre sometimes to look back to the person I was at the beginning of this and see how much IF has changed me, some for the better, but some for the worse too. It’s an odd balance to have to find between acknowledging it and wallowing. You’ve definitely snagged a new follower! Merry Christmas from ICLW #110!

  2. C

    That’s an interesting analogy. There really are a lot of parallels there.

Leave a Reply

