The Winds of Change

I’ve barely been blogging because I hate vagueblogging. In the last few months, I’ve been engaged in a major life change, and the process is finally over.

I’m going back to work. Full time.

I’ve been working, of course, during the last five years, but the work has been at home. I will, as of Monday, start a big new job in a big (old) city.

It’s my biggest transition in the last five years.

I’m nervous, but mostly excited. I’ve been struggling with the SAHM gig, in the last year especially. I have had a hard time with the lack of structure, and frankly, the lack of adult interaction. As the twins became more independent and needed me less, I personally felt less of a sense of purpose.

In terms of my blogging, it’s been difficult. When you are engaged in a job search in this new world where employers can research candidates so easily, it becomes challenging to know what to “put out there” and what to reserve to yourself. I found myself struggling to say anything publicly at all.

I still plan to write here. And read. The blogging community was first a beacon which beckoned to me like a siren. I was once a stranded, sea weary sailor on a rough ocean. Then the blogosphere became a virtual place that allowed me to touch the shore of a land that felt like home. It created lifelong friendships and it restored a crucial confidence to myself that had gone missing after infertility. I learned to be a more empathetic person, I learned that I should always try to put myself in another’s shoes. I learned the value of blogging in today’s media landscape, and how social media can become a party filled with like-minded friends-to-be. In other words, this community is a part of who I am and it always will be.

Thank you all for being here and listening in the last three years. It means more than I can say.

17 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

17 responses to “The Winds of Change

  1. Good luck!! I know I’ve missed you whole bunches!!

  2. Wow! Congratulations! I often wonder what I’ll do when my kids go to kindergarten. It’s hard to imagine, but it is coming!

    Good for you!!

  3. Congratulations! Can you tell us anything about what you’ll be doing?

  4. I am thrilled for and proud of you. I’ve been home for just over 3 years and I, too, am looking forward to re-joining the work force in an as yet undetermined capacity.

    Good luck! I’m sure it is exciting and anxiety-ridden at the same time. Enjoy this weekend!

  5. I hope your new employer realize how smart they are for snagging you. Their fortunes are certainly about to rise.

    I’m glad you’ll still be here, as well.

  6. Congratulations! I’d love to know more about the job…

  7. Mel

    Sending lots of good thoughts for the new job. I agree that they’re very lucky to have snagged you.

  8. Congratulations! This seems like a perfect time for you to make this transition. I hope next week is wonderful, and I’m glad you are going to keep writing here.

  9. Perhaps if you put it out here about the work that you would like to do, someone could help you? Or perhaps you could start an anonymous blog for things you would like to share?

  10. Congratulations! That’s wonderful news. I hope that your new job is all that you have dreamed of and more. Good luck!

  11. Wow, this is great news! Congratulations on making the decision and having found a job to be excited about. Best of luck starting this week.

  12. Thinking of you this morning … and wishing you fair weather as you set sail. :)

  13. nonsequiturchica

    Congratulations! I hope your first day (today!) goes great!

  14. Congratulations!! Hope the first week went well!

  15. Hope your first week went well! I’ve missed your writing.

  16. gave you a bloggy award…if you’re so inclined to post. :)

  17. JP

    I hope the silence means that the search has been fruitful.

Leave a Reply

