New Infertility Podcast!

So, you guys probably already know the hilarious, legendary Mo from Mommy Odyssey. You haven’t heard of her? Get thee to her blog page now. And read this.

So after my anihilation humiliation er, personal challenge at BlogHer, Mo had this brilliant idea. Why isn’t there a podcast for people who are going through adoption/loss/infertility? So many women and men are dealing with this stuff, and not all of them (not even most of them) blog about it or go on the infertility boards.

Enter “The Bitter Infertiles!”

Featured players:

Mo: who hosts, and does all of the technical wizardry.
Shelley: writes the blog Tales From The Waiting Room.
Cristy: writes the blog Searching for Our Silver Lining.
And, me ;)

We all come from different experiences: Mo’s had three miscarriages, one stillbirth at 22 weeks, and a whole lot of surgeries. Shelley is dealing with a diagnosis of unexplained infertility and is preparing for an FET after her first round of IVF failed. Cristy has dealt with 3 failed IUIs, 3 failed rounds of IVF/FET and two early miscarriages, and zero explanation for their infertility other than it’s a case of “bad luck.” And I’m the parenting after infertility perspective.

ALSO: we do a weekly Faces of ALI segment. This week we interviewed Kristin, from Dragondreamer’s Lair, who talked about dealing with RPL, parenting her three boys and also told us some hilarious tales. I am so inspired by her sense of humor, which has remained intact throughout all of her experiences. (Aside: The hardest I laughed at BlogHer was when Kristin told me the story that is included in this podcast.)

I hope you enjoy it. I am so proud of Shelley, Cristy and Kristin and Mo, who had the vision and expertise to make this happen.

Go LISTEN!!

14 Comments

Filed under Faces of ALI, Infertility

14 responses to “New Infertility Podcast!

  1. It’s wonderful! I’m listening to it now. :)

  2. SRB

    I loved it SO MUCH. That was what a blog (and comments section) *sounds*like. I am so proud and impressed and excited!

  3. Holy balls I missed it and what a FANTASTIC idea! Can we dL it from the iTunes store?

  4. Okay, I’m still listening, but I have to interact a little bit :). I just got to the part where someone is talking about how infertility differs from other diseases in that it isn’t screened for and we are often the first people to know it’s happening. I knew my first mc was not a fluke, and that I was experiencing something that would continue. I don’t know how I knew, I just did. I also had the experience of my doctor shrugging it off. Even my RE after our first appointment sort of poopooed my concerns and said she believed my next pregnancy would be fine. Well, it wasn’t. It’s so frustrating that with this disease, the prerequisite for a diagnosis is to have suffered for a certain length of time or in certain ways before it becomes legit.

    • That was a really interesting point: it’s a complicated disease and often takes such a long time to get diagnosed. (And many end up with the confusing “unexplained” category.) I think I mentioned on there that I didn’t get my diagnosis until the egg retrieval during my first IVF was so disastrous.

  5. DAMN! This is awesome!! :)

  6. Listening now! IIRC, Gabby from Two Peas in a Pod – now defunct – did podcasts for her IF journey.

  7. Wonderful to listen to your conversation! And just like you, I didn’t know my ovarian reserve were not as expected until I did my first IVF. None of the prior tests gave it away. Can’t wait for the next one :)

  8. Loved listening to your bitter banter. Great inaugural effort, ladies!

  9. Thanks for including me. Y’all did a wonderful job.

  10. What a great idea! : ) I have The Bitter Infertiles bookmarked; hoping to set aside some time to listen in soon.

    Lisa at Life Without Baby did a webcast awhile back using videocams/Skype that was really well done. It was broadcast live and there’s a recorded version on her blog that can be watched at leisure.

Leave a Reply

